We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Epicure

Epicure
Reserve with
Epicure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love to eat at Michelin star restaurants whenever the opportunity allows and it was no disappointment. The service was fantastic, the staff outstanding and the food just amazing. They do their best to make the guest feel special. A must visit. I hope to have the opportunity to dine with them again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Docraym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Directeur de la Restauration at Epicure, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for commenting so positively about your recent experience! The team was happy that you noticed their effort in ensuring your comfort within the restaurant.

We also hope to have the privilege of a return visit, in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Chambenoit
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,812
    193
    62
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
252 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Perfect moment”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Bristol certainly is one of the best (if not the best) palace hotels in Paris, and it's flagship restaurant L'Epicure offered us one of our best meals ever. We had booked a table on the terrace and the waiters ensured we would stay in the shade. The garden is not very big but is a welcome oasis of calm and relaxation in th emiddle of the city.
Overall service was perfect : attentive but discreet, always smiling. We were amazed how they procatively took care of the needs of a little girl's needs at a nearby table.
As for the food, we took a la carte dishes including the macaroni stuffed with foie gras and artichoke, langoustine with caviar, pigeon roast and a duck breast - all so fine, perfectly cooked and so elegantly presented. The wine list is stunning by its size, we settled for an all-champagne lunch. Desserts are also extremely fine and light. We wished the afternoon would never end !
In short... can it be nearer to perfection ?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Food and Beverage Director at Epicure, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

What a pleasure to read your review about your lunch experience in our fine-dining restaurant, Epicure.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the calm of our terrace.

We are truly delighted that cuisine, service and atmosphere created the perfect alchemy to make this lunch a “perfect moment”.

I will personally relay your great compliment to our Chef Eric Frechon and Laurent Jeannin and their team.

Be assured that we would be honored to have the opportunity of welcoming you again, on your next visit to Paris.

Kind regards,

Kevin Chambenoit
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to impress someone special, here is the place!
The food here is like no other place I've taste. They combine a lot of flavors to give an awesome result. You can resume the gastronomic score as " Amazing "

Our experience here was excellent, not only the food was outrageous, but the service was very good. We asked for a waiter who could explain the dishes in Spanish and they had it... The also gave us a tour inside the kitchen and it was unbelievable ...

My #1 Restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Food and Beverage Director at Epicure, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Miguel,

We are thrilled to learn that dining within Epicure was a highlight to your honeymoon in Paris.

We are truly delighted that cuisine and the service created the perfect alchemy to make this dinner as an “amazing experience”.

You can be sure that we will be looking forward welcoming you for your many anniversaries to come!

Warm regards,

Kevin Chambenoit
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb food and staff who were wonderfully accepting of small child!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went during a month's stay in Paris with our 3 1/2 year old. For my birthday, and tired of a large number of very ordinary Parisian restaurants (though over the month we will have tried three of the six trip advisor top-rated ones), we decided to brave going to the best WITH our son. Now the primary reason for writing this review, which can add very little to the superlatives outlined in other reviews, is to say how extraordinarily welcoming they were to our little boy. This was even though he managed to drop and break a crystal water glass (heavier than any he'd held before and cold and slippery - in retrospect we should have suggested something smaller and lighter). The staff to their credit scarcely batted an eyelid (I would have expected surly traditional Parisian wait-staff to be totally disapproving.

Especially in view if the breakage, The Bristol will probably be unhappy with us suggesting that their clientele bring little ones along. For us this was a wonderful opportunity and it would've been such a shame to miss out with no babysitting available to us. Of course we went for lunch. We were in a beautiful corner but reasonably far away from other tables (lunch on Saturday and was not full). The staff pampered all of us and even brought extra things including an early serve of macaroons for our boy and one of the hotel toy rabbits for him to keep. He hasn't let go of it since.

Unlike so many places in Paris, they were happy to speak with us in French or English as was our wish. It is so nice to be able to try communicate in the native language without an automatic response in English which is the norm for French restaurant staff where their English is perfect.

The ambience of the restaurant is superb. Background music is important to us, and in Epicure this was a perfect selection of baroque pieces played at just the right volume.

And, yes, the food was superb. The entree of tomatoes of various colours – red, yellow and green – with a mozzarella sauce was the very best tomato dish either us has ever had anywhere. Visually the presentation of this and other dishes was stunning. The rabbit main was delicious and the deserts and all the little amuse bouches and extras magnificent. The Sommelier's suggested wine when we told him what type of Chardonnay we liked was perfect, and also the pinot noir to complement the rabbit.

Now to return for dinner in a few years when the little one has grown up! Hope the 3 star standard is maintained until then.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mjedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Food and Beverage Director at Epicure, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for adding your review to the already numerous one written about Epicure, because it is a beautiful one and very pleasant for our team to acknowledge.

As you rightly stated, we are happy to accommodate little ones to try a gastronomic experience with their parents or family. And happy as well to adapt to our guest’s choice of language, as having a French meal while speaking French is always a bit more special, but not for too long.

Wishing you again a belated birthday, we do hope having the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon, for more exciting memories, even if the little one is not entirely grown up!

Warm regards,

Kevin Chambenoit
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Platinum Standard”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It has been a couple of months since I was here, but the fabulous memories of this place are extremely vivid. This is the platinum standard by which to judge restaurants. One of the most memorable meals I have had.


Epicure is definitely one of the more expensive restaurants you can go to, but it is well worth it.
Flawless service. Some of the most beautiful place settings at a restaurant anywhere. A lovely room that will accent any special or other occasion. Oh, and the food, it really does not get any better. It is superb, very fresh and they are accommodating of dietary restrictions (actually emailed them ahead of time).

Since I love desserts, the macaroons at the end were a delicious finale to a wonderful afternoon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NevskyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Food and Beverage Director at Epicure, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review, even if you had the chance of dining in Epicure a few months ago.

At least, we are sure that you remember perfectly the great moment you had with us.

We are honored that you are so considerate about your experience, and that you enjoyed so much the service, the cuisine, and the setting.

There are certainly a few flavors of macaroons you have not tried, so we will be happy to correct that during your next visit.

Warm regards,

Kevin Chambenoit
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epicure also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Epicure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing