We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MONDAY SPECIAL”
Review of Le Petit Marche

Le Petit Marche
Ranked #274 of 17,283 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A MONDAY SPECIAL”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In the Marais virtually all restaurants are closed on a Monday so we were happy to find this one open. The service was a bit erratic but the food was very good and the prices reasonable. Well worth a visit if you are stuck for somewhere to eat on a Monday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    301
    51
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely little place with great food and friendly waiters (with good English). As an awkward nut allergy sufferer I found the waiters very helpful, they even ensured I could share the chocolate desert with my hubby by having the nut sauce in a separate dish.
All in all, would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went here on Sunday night for my birthday dinner with my partner.

As a non-French speaker (high school French didn't help me much!) and a completely French menu it was a challenge but a fun one. The tuna starter was incredible. The crab was lovely too. We both had the entrecote steak. It was a little grisly but nothing could compare to the mashed potato. It was easily the best mash I have ever had along with delicious mange tout. It was reasonably priced and we were the only non French people there. Some of the waiters could speak English but that isn't so important. The service is French style so unhurried but when you expect that then it isn't so bad. I would definitely recommend coming here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“They do not know how to turn tables. Horrible experience.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have not been to this restaurant in years. They’ve changed Chefs and the food has improved dramatically for the better. But here’s a few problems I have with this restaurant. #1 they turn tables. #2 they’re very bad at turning tables. #3 they lie, which is the worse thing you can do.

We arrived at 8 pm, the time our reservations were made. They told us our table wasn’t ready and it’d be a few more minutes, so we waited. About half an hour later we asked what was going on? and asked to speak to the manager. The manager said our reservations was for 7:30, which we clearly said NO way. Locals do not make reservations at 7:30? American tourist do, but NOT locals (which we are). And, they gave our table away. A friend would not accept this and basically said you get our table ready cause we made reservations, and I don’t care how you do it. Another group followed us and were told I assume the same lie, so they left and we believe we got their tables.

Once inside we had a wonderful time. However, the noise level was unbelievably loud. Would I go back, ABSOLUTELY NOT, for the primary reason I don’t like going to restaurants that turn the tables, which is a new concept in Paris and they’re very bad at it! And, my philosophy about dining in Paris, it has to be about the overall experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RandydeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful Parisan cafe in Le Marais”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great and inventive French food. Place is really hopping and the service is wonderful. Place is somewhat cramped but you don't mind once the food arrives and the wine vegans to flow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerdean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Marche also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing