We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Nicois - CLOSED

Le Petit Nicois
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really nice food and great service. Not cheap but no dearer than the many other places in the area. Situated in a quiet road, off the main drag. It wasn't at all busy so we didn't need to book.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happiherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    18
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Eat here! You won't regret it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff are delightful, the food exceptional and traditional. The drink measures generous and the atmosphere entirely authentic. No one else was speaking English around me. I loved it! And they happily looked after me even though I was alone...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KateH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent, but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had the snails and seafood soup and both were tasty, but the soup was a little over cooked. My wife had the vegies and inkfish, and they were lukewarm and barely satisfactory. Service was reasonably good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GVP1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lukewarm food and uncooked sea food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place is ok...the fish was good the night before, so we decided to go back...mistake. We ordered a fish with sea food and for our surprise, the fish was not cooked properly and some shells were still closed! No discount provided even after complaining! We ended up going to another restaurant as we were still hungry! Not nice experience! Do not recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's late, It's Sunday, It's Finished”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I can't tell you how many times we heard "it's finished" from the waiter (meaning no more left) when we visited here. Another recent reviewer basically wrote my review for me (escargot - too much olive oil, waiters unengaged, ink fish - uninspired). It was nice to have a little more elbow room and a comfortable chair but I'll trade a padded seat for better food and service any day of the week and twice on Sunday. (BTW - count us as additional victims of a Rick Steves restaurant recommendation). But like some other reviewers - the desert was to our liking and prevented the evening from being a complete loss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Fil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Nicois also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing