We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant”

Le Repaire de Cartouche
Ranked #6,594 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bastille / Oberkampf
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Traditional and typical french food, good quality and not expensive. An underrated institution. Location is central and near the trendy quartier of late

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chucknourri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    19
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable and enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal here. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Simple, provincial and just how French food should be. Lovely. Our waiter was very attentive and gave excellent service. Very enjoyable last meal in Paris.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Impressive place. Stellar good food and service. Winelist is impressive. Honest/traditional French food in the best way possible without being stuffy at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good classic french restaurant in Paris”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From reading the previous reviews on the quality of food and service I was prepared for the worst. However, the reality was that I was pleasantly surprised. The only negative was that selection of game was limited due to the time of year and the majority of the menu was either veal, lamb or fish. I has the pigeon pate en-croute which was excellent and flavoursome. Followed by the Agneau de lait (shared) which was outstanding and melt in your mouth. One my my colleagues ordered the wine but from my knowledge of wine the list was quite eclectic and very interesting. I can highly recommend this restaurant but it seems like only very limited English is spoken.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“foods of the wild”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

well presented food;had hare ;rabbit terrine ;partner had fish;decent bottle cote de blaye
restaurant avoids excess decoration ;neat wood panelled dining room
waiter explained those parts of menu that we did not understand the lingo

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therealdeadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Repaire de Cartouche also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Repaire de Cartouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing