We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but expensive Moroccan in a typical setting!”
Review of Timgad

Timgad
Ranked #2,929 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$171
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive Moroccan in a typical setting!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was invited by a business associate for lunch at this very popular moroccan restaurant close to Porte Maillot. The Moroccan setting and the Moroccan staff create this very authentic atmosphere. There was a confusion with our reservation which was sorted out. We sat at the lower part of the restaurant during a very busy lunchtime. We kept ourselves busy with four different small dishes with olives etc until our order was taken, I started with the grilled Kofta which tasted fine but it was served lukewarm. I had a chicken pastilla as a main course which was good, We resisted the Moroccan deserts as we could not eat anything more after this heavy meal. The Moroccan tea filled the gap. The staff try their best but the service seemed chaotic at times. It took a while for our check to be presented to my host.It was an expensive meal; I could not believe that the charge for a medium bottle of flat water was eight Euros!...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    100
    38
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and a rip off for what it is!!! If you have money to BURN For mediocre food”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had dinner there tonight.
It is completely overpriced and food taste was ok.
500 + euros for 5 person and for pastille we ordered one and were charged for 5 , because we shared it.
Same thing for salad ,
Couscous was charged 5 supplements at 11.50 each
It is totally pverpriced and we will not rec omens it to others at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vijrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Much better this time”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Following my last review when i was slightly disappointing we went again and this time it was just perfect.
Couscous was tasty, the grain perfect and the lamb kebab amazing.
However this time the Merguez were disappointing.
Still one of the best couscous in Paris for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't Go To - Avoid”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had dinner at Le Timgad yesterday evening.
Haven't been there for years. My grandfather uses to have dinner their with us so a lot of souvenir.
We had two couscous (main dish 25-30 euros), two glasses of champagne, half a bottle rosé and oriental cakes.

Food was all right but when the bill came : 175 euros with 75 euros for the oriental cakes. They Charged 6 dessert telling us that we eat too much cake.

Haven't seen this in all my life. We had to ask for the police and they gave back 45 euros.

Don't go to this restaurant, they behaviour is unacceptable

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Flatsix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still maintaining its standard”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I used to go to this Moroccan restaurant since the 80's ,it was and still is the best Moroccan
Restaurant in Paris, it kept the same excellent standards of food quality, service and professionalism . Whatever you choose from Tagin to Mechoui ,both are excellent. The couscous is delicious. As starters try the Moroccan salad. And if you have good appetite order the Pastilla
With pigeons( puff pastry with pigeon stuffing)decorated with icing sugar.
Moroccan pastry is great, delicious ,you can pick up from the tray whatever you like.
A cup of tea with mint would be the right drink to end up your meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timgad also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Timgad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing