We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Le Volant

Le Volant
Ranked #140 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I went here without a reservation. We were lucky that it was a Monday and we were able to get a table. The service and food were phenomenal. The portions are extremely generous and the prices are more than fair. We started with the charcuterie plate which was large enough to share. I had the sea bass and my husband had the beef bourguignon. The sea bass is served whole and the beef is served in a little pot. We finished with the creme brûlée. One of the best meals that we've ever had all for 70 euros!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bk812013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    129
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food from sud west”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A nice place, not the usual French bistrot.
Typical food from the south west part of the country.
Try the rabbit and the riz au lait.

Helpful?
3 Thank mg2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I've been to in Paris for quality, price and service.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

And we've eaten at over 100 restaurants in Paris through the years.
This one combines charm, great service (thank you Kamila and Olga), interesting history and, above all, great food. That scene in the movie Ratatouille, where the chef takes a bite and is transported to his childhood.....that's this.
Don't let the sports bar look of this place fool you. We walked in early and it was empty. Thought we'd been given a bum steer by our hotel. By the time we left, there were line ups at the door.
Six of six of us had great meals but I think the beef bourguignon was the first star. The gravy from that on their mashed potatoes will send you to heaven. Kudos to the guys cooking in the kitchen. You've nailed it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Parisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and great value in Paris”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We at at Le Volant in the 15th arr a couple of years ago and I recalled it having been good, so we went back today for lunch. It was even better than I remembered. I had the classic beef bourginon, one of their specialities, and my wife had a whole grilled sea bass. These were served with polenta, rice and mashed potatoes. Both meals and the veggies were superb and more than we could eat. All of this with entrees before the plats and wine came to just 58 euro for the two of us. Can;t say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rfp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great French meal”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spurred on by excellent TA reviews we headed to this restaurant in Paris. We were not disappointed. The waitress was extremely friendly and the restaurant while only small had a great vibe. There were a number of locals drinking at the front bar which was a good sign. I had rabbit and my wife Beef Bourguignon. Both dishes were sensational, large serves along with a trio of side plates. Followed with a Tapas of deserts, very tasty. Our best meal in France.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Volant also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Volant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing