We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Dining in the 7ieme Arrondissement”

Les Fables de La Fontaine
Reserve with
Les Fables de La Fontaine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #475 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Fables of La Fontaine took the time to embellish. To welcome the new kitchen of Julia, the room wants to be more spacious and light, thanks to its increased capacity and windows to admire the fountain of Mars from its table. On the walls are stone walls contrast with the industrial lines of windows. The decoration is in tune with the times with a solid oak furniture, handmade, art of the table uncluttered and very light tones inspired naturalness. David Bottreau to head the restaurant for ten years told the kitchen Julia SEDEFJIAN, formerly second restaurant, went head today. Together they reflected on a new kitchen, which is the new life given to the restaurant: gourmet cuisine tinged with a bistronomic generosity. They dust off the gourmet kitchen, and make accessible star, with only watchword quality and creativity. The kitchen retains its identity by selecting marine classics of the marine world, but also delicious and unknown products to the general public. The noble products such as sole, lobster, caviar are available now in suggestion, according to arrivals. Seasonal products are showcased, guaranteeing freshness preserved, and starred cuisine is reflected in specific executions, controlled, in order to rediscover and exhaling in the flavors
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining in the 7ieme Arrondissement”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Les Fables de la Fontaine is situated on rue St.Dominique in an old stone building surrounded by other very good to excellent restaurants, so living in the area it’s easy to make comparisons.
This is an excellent seafood restaurant, with very good service and a very relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant itself is small with 10-11 tables, the greeting is very friendly and professional as is the service. The menu is not extensive but it covers most tastes and the food is not only extremely well done but set out beautifully.
Our entrées were Croustillants de langoustines au basilic, émulsion d’agrumes,
coulis d’épinard mentholé, sucrine façon César and Papillon n°4 de Roumegous, gelée d’agrumes et soja, perles aromatiques. The main course were the specialty of the day which were Norwegian Scallops served with a parmesan risotto and they were excellent. Naturally we had some wine which helped. Dessert was a soufflé Margaurite which was so light but also rich but fantastic, plus coffee.
All in all and excellent meal in an extremely pleasant atmosphere. We even had a great conversation with the people at the table next to us and exchanged a number of travel ideas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    241
    95
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still Dammed Good”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I try to visit each time I pass through. The restaurant does not need my recommendation. They started at a high level and have maintained or improved on it over the years.

It is just a feeling but I can't help but sense that the restaurant seems much more self satisfied now and less inclined to search for that unique taste experience. It is a great place for lunch and is superior to most.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I had a really great dining experience here. We were seated right away, and I think we had the best seat in the house. It wasn't so much a table as it was a counter facing the street. It was higher than the tables, we had more space and we were able to hear each other better. The other diners were kind of crammed in there. The service was great. We had the oeuf mollet, and it was different than others I've had in the past, but still delicious. It came with dipping toast and lobster butter, if I understood correctly. I didn't care for the butter, it was too fishy for me. We had the lobster for dinner with foie gras sauce and it was worth every calorie. For dessert we had the tiramisu and it was AMAZING! The restaurant was a little pricey, but it was good. I would recommend it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over-rated & over-priced”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We tried this restaurant on our last evening in Paris, anticipating a dining experience equal to its 1 star Michelin rating. We were disappointed. Although the restaurant was only half filled, our service was slow and uneven. The tables are very close together, making conversation difficult. We received an incorrect entrée. Some of the dishes were overly contrived and it seemed to me that appearance took precedence over taste. As an example, I ordered the raspberry tart for dessert. It was presented on a narrow flat black plate. A small scoop of ice cream was served to the side of the tart and it was difficult to eat melting ice cream with a fork - a small bowl with a spoon would have been more appropriate. Each individual raspberry had been filled with a thick jelly which added nothing to the taste. The "tart" was a round thick cookie which was impossible to eat because it was so dry and hard. To use the restroom, you have to walk though the kitchen which seems odd. The restroom was not clean. When the bill arrived, we noticed we had not been charged for 2 desserts, an after-dinner drink and a coffee, and we were over-charged for one of the entrees. Of course we pointed out these discrepancies to our server and received the larger, correct bill (215.00 euro for 2 people) with no apology. We had better service and food (to-die-for crème brulee) at the lesser rated Les Ronchons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ghttw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were expecting something on the line of the Christian Constant Cafe nearby, where we had a wonderful meal. Or la petit Troquet just down the block where we were also regaled with great food. But not only was a smoker allowed to blow smoke in the faces of the diners, the main was about as bland and boring as they come. The service was average at best and the meal overall was not worth the price. It wasn't the high price, because as foodies we eat at the best, if we can, while traveling somewhere like Paris. It was lame for the price and totally unremarkable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Fables de La Fontaine also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Fables de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing