We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant but great food.”

Les Fables de La Fontaine
Reserve with
Les Fables de La Fontaine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #477 of 17,161 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Fables of La Fontaine took the time to embellish. To welcome the new kitchen of Julia, the room wants to be more spacious and light, thanks to its increased capacity and windows to admire the fountain of Mars from its table. On the walls are stone walls contrast with the industrial lines of windows. The decoration is in tune with the times with a solid oak furniture, handmade, art of the table uncluttered and very light tones inspired naturalness. David Bottreau to head the restaurant for ten years told the kitchen Julia SEDEFJIAN, formerly second restaurant, went head today. Together they reflected on a new kitchen, which is the new life given to the restaurant: gourmet cuisine tinged with a bistronomic generosity. They dust off the gourmet kitchen, and make accessible star, with only watchword quality and creativity. The kitchen retains its identity by selecting marine classics of the marine world, but also delicious and unknown products to the general public. The noble products such as sole, lobster, caviar are available now in suggestion, according to arrivals. Seasonal products are showcased, guaranteeing freshness preserved, and starred cuisine is reflected in specific executions, controlled, in order to rediscover and exhaling in the flavors
Antwerp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small restaurant but great food.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went twice to this restaurant for lunch a few weeks ago and were very pleased with the outcome.
It's been years that we are passing this restaurant and we were always afraid to go in because of the bad reviews that we had read.
So at long last we got in on a Friday for lunch, a set menu for 35 euros, starter, main, dessert and a glass of wine. Not that expensive because for the same you pay the same in a bistro (that doesn't have a Michelin star).
The à la carte lunch a few days later was as good, even better. The best fillet of cod we had in a long time.
It's a shame that you have to pass the kitchen if you want to go to the bathroom though but you just have to make use of the space you have I guess.
So for dinner, book well in advance because if we've counted correctly, they can only seat 25 guests.
Bon appétit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    248
    99
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience in every way”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I went here for dinner with a good friend on my last night in Paris and it was the best dining experience we had in Paris. We were seated at the window with a front row seat of life on the street which was magical - we loved it. The service was exceptional and attentive. We both met the kitchen staff and the wonderful chef - Julia - on the way to the restrooms and they were smiling and welcoming. Then the courses of food began and each was better than the last. For example one of the chef's complementary surprises included a perfect scallop with black truffles and creamy risotto. and the delicious surprises kept coming. I will definitely eat here again when I am in Paris.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOLisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced and shady waiter”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We walked in here on our first night in Paris enticed by the lovely seafood menu shown outside. We got our first dose of rude Frenchmen from our seat mate next to us who scorned at my husband and I with disdain until he left. The place is tiny and the acoustics are not great unless all of the other tables are talking. The food was good - albeit overpriced and quite honestly not too entirely creative. We would have been more pleased with our experience had we not been scammed into 2 glasses of 35 Euro dessert wine. We said we wanted dessert wine and we're told that they only had one. We said yes without asking the price or to see the wine list again - lesson learned. We were floored when we received the check and saw the charge. The waiter had also tried to upsell us on some truffle mashed potatoes by showing us a truffle - something he did not do for any of the other tables we saw there- which were all French. Bottom line- the food was good but we felt like they tried to take advantage of us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klindenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best meal I ever had!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It would not be a choice for a regular meal, but rather the place you would go on a very special occasion. It is tiny, only for 20-25 customers and you seat really close to a person next to you, but you completely forget about it and everything else as soon as food arrives. We chose the testing menu: 8 courses. Wow! 8 times! Honostly, I don't even remember all the details, but everything was out of this world! Just make sure to call ahead for a reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yury1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This restaurant is incredible. If you are a foodie, you will love it. The food is so intense with flavors that each morsel bursts into your mouth. It isn't a cheap restaurant, so be ready, but it is worth every penny.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Fables de La Fontaine also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Fables de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing