We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Restaurant in Paris”
Review of Marius

Marius
Ranked #2,795 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Passy
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Paris”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Visited Marius for the second time and was not disappointed. We had been here two years ago and it was the best meal we had in Paris during that trip, and we ate at exclusively high-end restaurants that entire time. This time, we had our whole family with us and, by chance, I was able to get a table on a last minute decision to go there. I found the service and food to be even better than the last time we ate there. In fact, everyone of us raved about all the different dishes we had. My only disappointment was we were too late to get the Grand Marnier souffle. Don't miss that if you go! Tres bon!

I wish I spoke better French because Marius is such a warm and inviting host and I would have liked to better express our thanks for treating us so kindly and serving us the best meal we had in Paris. Next time I go to Paris, I will for sure be scheduling an earlier visit to Marius.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank botank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Nice food but very confused service”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Ok ok I should speak French but I was given a menu in English. I then ordered off that.

I ordered the fried small fish and sea bream and a bottle of badoit

10 minutes later sorry we do not have the starter.

Ok I will have the sardines.....not sardines.

They then said only the specials. I do not want any if the specials

Then another waiter comes. What do I want for a starter?. Well I wanted the small fish and you did not have it and if not the sardines and you did not have that . Oh we have sardines!!!!!

Ok sardines came very nice, fish very nice , no Badoit? Can I get a bottle of Badoit finally with my dessert, which was very nice

So despite sitting on a pillar, and terrible terrible snotty French service it was very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really worth it!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is one of my favorite seafood restaurants in Paris (200m from the porte de st cloud, in the XVIe arr). Mostly locals in a very nice atmosphere. The owner comes to tell you all about the different dishes.
I would recommend the "tourteau salad" (really fresh and light) to start with.
In summer you can eat outdoor.
Service is efficient. Better booking a day before (even more for fridays and saturdays)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Off of the beaten path- fabulous fish, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our Parisian friends recommended it. Our taxi driver was unfamiliar with the location and restaurant. We began to wonder- where are we going? When we arrived we were in a local Parisian neighborhood, away from all touristic sites. The restaurant is in a non descript residential building. We were surrounded by locals and it was clear they were foodies! White tablecloths in an elegance of beautiful place settings, pretty windows and art. The fish was fresh and tasty. The beef was seasoned perfectly. The desserts and wine list were exquisite. We will return to this gastronomic delight and have already recommended it to a number of friends. The bill was a pleasant surprise as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New York Friends of "New Orient Hotel" Love Marius”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Although very busy [always a good sign in a fish house] the welcome was gracious, The Chef's personal recommendations quite helpful and the service very professional.
Worth the detour.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellflowerForet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marius also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Marius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing