We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good”

Le Relais Louis XIII
Ranked #710 of 18,806 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

There want anything that wasn't well done. That said it didn't leave us with a wow. The food was well presented and original. The service was well delivered. There was no rush. But I have to compare the experience with other dinning experiences and it didn't match the experience at lesser rated restaurants.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Bernard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016

Great food and excellent service. Definitely worthwhile going for special occasion but it worth every penny.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kchung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Last time we were here for dinner was 14 years ago. Not much has changed with respect to quality and innovation. This is truly an over the top dining experience without the usual stuffiness you can encounter in a restaurant of this calibre. Staff is friendly and professional. The food is everything you would expect for a Michelin star restaurant in Paris. The atmosphere is lovely - warm and intimate with several private dining coves. Chef's complimentary appetizer wonderful, roast duck amazing, sweetbreads excellent. Millefeuille is the best I've tasted anywhere in the world, mango and avocdo tart delightful -- the basil sorbet is unlike anything you've ever tasted. Overall a true 5-star experience. (Expect a 5-star cost as well -- but so worth it.)

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch prepared by Chef Manuel Martinez and his team. This was certainly a meal befitting a Michelin star! We found the staff knowledgeable, helpful and welcoming. Our waiter, fluent in French and English provided us with English menus, descriptions of the dishes and excellent wine pairing suggestions. Each course was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented! My personal favourite was the house speciality of "classique quenelle de Bar" - fish made into an airy light mousse with a mushroom and champagne sauce. My husband loved his two-ways of duck dish (especially the duck and foie gras pie with its flaky buttery pasty crust) and my langoustine main course was to die-for (the sauce was heavenly). Our citrus soufflés were light and fluffy and a perfect finish to our meal. We would have loved to try the cheeses but were already well satisfied. Merci Chef Martinez! Nous avons adoré le déjeuner, vous si soigneusement préparé pour nous.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The tasting menu served beautiful food to michelin standard, however the service falls very short. Also, I dont believe we were served all ten courses. The somellier spoke of the beef course which we did not receive.

Although sound service to begin, after the last course the staff completely ignored us for more than 30 minutes. No offer of more drinks, coffee & tea or cheese etc, although we watched this be offered to other tables.

An rxpensive restaurant that you are likeky to walk away feeling disapointed as we did. You will do much better in Paris elsewhere.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Le Relais Louis XIII also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Relais Louis XIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.