We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Spicy - CLOSED

Villa Spicy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Champs-Elysees
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We wandered upon this beautiful restaurant after a tour of the area and could not have enjoyed it more. There was a 2 course prix fixe menu that seemed a good value compared to other restaurants we have gone to here. After a very friendly welcome, we were seated in the beautifully decorated dining room with a very good server. She didn't know English and we don't speak French, but we worked it out without a problem--she was an excellent waitress. I ordered the prawn appetizer, which contrary to other reviews, I found delicious. It had a definite flavor of cilantro, which I love, but others might not like. I also had the cod/fennel entree, and my husband had the tomato/mozzarella appetizer and the shrimp entree and all were very good. We would return without hesitation to this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Estra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    153
    58
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very mediocre restaurant worth skipping.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Taken here for a business dinner and will certainly never repeat. The appetizer was bad (satay shrimp), the main course, a spicey beef concoction, not much better. The only good portion of the meal was the creme brulee for dessert, which was surprisingly tasty. The rest of the meal, hopefully forgettable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reserved prior to arrival in Paris based upon reviews we read. They did not disappoint. Service, food, atmosphere were all first rate yet reasonably priced for Paris, or any major city for that matter. Patrick, the manager, was most attentive to us from start to finish, and our waitress could not have been better. English no problem either. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scorpion872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good decor as well as great food. Accommodating staff with good English. Ordered the fennel salad with steamed salmon. The salad alone would be enough to bring me back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chocolatehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stumbled across this restaurant in Paris and it was busy and nicely decorated, so I sat down and ordered dinner. Wow - what an absolute disgrace of a meal. As a starter I ordered the prawns marinated with satay and salad of green papaya. There was only the tiniest bit of sauce on he prawns and it certainly didn't taste of satay. The papaya seemed to be fennel. For my main I ordered the marinated beef with Thai basil. There was certainly no Thai basil. There was a small dish of sauce that tasted of nothing, and it was just a thin steak sitting on a bed of overcooked peppers and onions with a bit of mash. For dessert I had the brioche with ice cream and caramel sauce. Now I love salted caramel, but this was so heavy on the salt and the brioche was burnt. When I left most of it, for the first time I was approached by the staff (they didn't pour any of my wine, they didn't ask how any of the earlier courses were), and they asked if I enjoyed it. When I pointed out the burnt brioche, they gave me a new one. The staff didn't seem rude, just over stretched so the complaints are just about the absolutely disgusting food, and the price tag attached to it. Avoid!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Volsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Spicy also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing