We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again”
Review of Pavillon Nation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon Nation
Ranked #543 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I read every review regarding this hotel before booking our trip for this last december. We were looking for a hotel, in a good price close to public transportation. Though the rooms are tiny, we got exactly what we wanted. I mean, we were only there to take showers and sleep, as we had lots of things to do in Paris. Every time we came back from our site seeing we came back to a clean room, and clean/warm towels ;D. Though it was winter, our hotel room always felt perfect inside. There was a mini fridge inside the room with drinks, but we were also able to fit in there juices we bought and wanted to keep cool. This was my husband & I first time in Europe, as we were spending christmas in Paris. The hotel is in an amazing location. Very close (2 blocks) to Nation metro. Nation metro station connects with various other metro lines ( Eiffel Tour) and others as well as RER A (Disney Paris) and Orly Bus. For us that we had never used a metro in our lives, being so close to it, and having a metro station with so many connections was wonderful, we quickly found our way around Paris, and easily back to our hotel. Right in front of the hotel is a monoprix for clothing and bakery. Which meant that we had croissants and OJ every morning by just crossing the street. There was also a pharmacy right next to the monoprix just in case there is need for something from there. The hotel staff was very polite and though they did not have many recommendations, whenever we had questions they always tried to help us. Breakfast was not included in the price, and as recommended by reviewers we decided to take advance of the options outside the hotel instead of paying for a breakfast inside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lalyv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    216
    95
    41
    14
See reviews for
39
255
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

From the outside, it looks like any other street hotel. The reception lobby is small and confirms the street hotel perception. The small lift doesn't help either. But the moment you enter the room, it delights you. The room is small but beautifuly decked up. Very high quality furnishings, drapes, carpets & furniture. The bed was cozy and the room has this nice big window looking out into the street. The shower is lavish. All of it feels like a mini-5 star. The rates are very reasonable and the location great. There are quite a few cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. A nice street market for the choicest vegetables, fruits and bread is close by. A Casino store within 5 minute walk. And the Nation RER station within 5 minute walk from the station. From Nation station, there are direct trains to Trocadero, Champs de Elyeese, Louvre and many other places, all within 25 mins. Hospitality was great and it was romantic in a very European way. I am surely going back to the place, whenever I am in Paris next.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BajpaiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent New Year in this hotel and as such it was pretty expensive considering the state of our room.

According to the plan of our floor we were given the biggest room (of moderate size). First thing to note was that the bedding and pillows were very uncomfortable and could do with an upgrade.

Although we had specifically requested a non smoking room, the corridor smelt of cigarette smoke masked by strong airfreshner and on the first day our room smelt of stale smoke.

The rooms were shoddily decorated and not very clean - our towels and bedding were not changed during our stay.

The bathroom was just awful - the tap on the sink was not properly fixed and swayed around, the shower tube was not long enough to extend in order to stand underneath it and when even pulled upwards in order to crouch beneath it, kinks in it meant the water supply was cut off. There was no plug so having a bath was not a possibility either and the taps were hanging out of the wall. There were gaping holes in the walls and bits of the wall and ceiling covering were hanging off.

There was no wardrobe to store clothes, just drawers. The TV remote didn't work and neither did one of the bedside lights which was nearly hanging from it's wall fitting.

Room to keep baggage on final day was the disabled toilet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc_P44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at Pavillon Nation for four nights and really enjoyed our time. The hotel has a great location near to Nation metro station which provides excellent travel links/connections around the city. The local area was good with lots of restaurants, cafes and shops all within easy reach. 

The hotel staff were courteous and spoke very good English. Our hotel room was clean and modern and of a good size compared to some rooms we've stayed in in Paris.  There is free wifi in the hotel which was a good speed and the room had a safe and a fridge (it was a mini-bar but there was room to chill your own drinks!).  The mini-bar was typically expensive and as the hotel doesn't have it's own bar we bought some drinks in a local shop to have a drink each evening before going out - not having a bar is a criticism compared to other hotels but we knew that before we booked. 

Our room was facing the back of the hotel which meant we didn't have any street noise and could sleep with the window open.  There is a TV in the room but it doesn't have any English speaking channels which is a shame as most hotels we've stayed in have BBC World or CNN. 

On two of the mornings we allowed ourselves a lie-in but the water in the shower was then tepid (at best!) so this could have been improved. 

The breakfast was typically European (coffee, pastries, toasts, meat & cheese, yogurts etc) and was plentiful.  It would have been nice to have some variety with breakfast as it was exactly the same every day. 

On arrival, the safe in the room wasn't able to be programmed so we were moved to another room without complaint.  There are ironing facilities available in the hotel but in a dedicated room and you're not able to have the iron in your room. 

We booked the hotel with a 30% discount and also had four nights for the price of three. This was a lovely hotel and we'd certainly stay again, but only at the discount rate and not at full price as there are other hotels we've stayed at with the same facilities for less than the full-rate. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arewebeingserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Rooms were very small though the whole hotel was very stylish and updated. They charged 8 Euro per person for the breakfast which we assumed was included in the price but there was nothing special in the breakfast, just cereal, toasts, coffee and no eggs. We could've done better breakfast outside. Place is a little away from the attractions but Metro is very close around 5min of walk. There was very little room to walk in the room just 2 feet of space around the bed which was quite cramped. For other 2 days we stayed at Marriott at St-Dennis and their rooms were quite big for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faraz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Rooms are spacious, but were rather dirty (dirt in corners, cobwebs, carpets unvacuumed). The room design is nicely modern, and nicely appointed. The street noise is a little disturbing, so try for a room on the inside courtyard. Location is a bit outside the center of town, but is 5 minute walk to the 1 Metro line--so about 15 minutes to major destinations. Staff is accommodating and tries to be helpful, but does not provide highly knowledgable guidance (ie. couldn't help us find a place to get clothes pressed). Breakfast is OK---but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing interior courtyard to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is near Nation metro station, where you can take the most important lines into the city centre. The rooms are small but modern and the bed is good, pillows could be better. The neighbourhood is quiet. When you want to grab something to eat you can go to the Marais quartier (not far).
This was our second visit and we found some things we'ren't as good as the first time. The water in de sink (in bathroom) didn't run through. We mentioned it at the reception but wasn't taken care of. You don't get many towels (1 pp) and every day only one of those two towels was changed. Breakfast isn't luxureous but ok (croissant, pain au chocolat, tea/coffee, orange jus).

Room Tip: Rooms at the street side are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessnijna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Villa Lutece Port Royal
#1,140 of 1,802 in Paris
436 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Agate Hotel
Agate Hotel
#1,319 of 1,802 in Paris
89 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Plus 61 Paris Nation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1,271 of 1,802 in Paris
64 reviews
Hotel Comete Paris
#68 of 1,802 in Paris
143 reviews
Timhotel Nation
#1,202 of 1,802 in Paris
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Nation

Property: Pavillon Nation
Address: 13 boulevard de Charonne, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillon Nation 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Nation Paris
Pavillon Nation Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing