We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite far from tourist spots” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes
Ranked #1,188 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    434
    319
    92
    54
See reviews for
246
281
113
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirano, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel over the July holiday weekend and so it was very busy. Arriving at Beauvais airport, we took the shuttle bus to Porte Maillot and then got métro line 1 (that goes right across Paris, covering many of the important sights) directly to the stop Saint Mandé. From here it took just five minutes to walk to the hotel. On the way we passed restaurants, shops, a chemist and a good supermarket. The hotel was what I expected - a chain hotel, simple, modern and with easy access to local transport. Other reviews have already described the rooms, which I think are all similar, and the only real problem was the room temperature. We had two rooms - one was almost cold, with air-conditioning working non-stop and the other was far too hot with no air-conditioning working at all! We did mention this at reception but nothing happened. From what I've read there seems to be a regular problem with room temperatures but we were there to visit Paris and so only slept in the rooms.
We paid extra to have breakfast in the hotel and, although a simple breakfast, it was filling and good value for Paris as drinks and breakfast out in cafés are very expensive.
I often review hotels and believe in judging them for what they are and for their particular category. We paid just under 50 Euros a night for a twin room with breakfast and I think it was very good value for what it was - somewhere clean/modern to sleep, breakfast to start the day, easy access to transport and on a very good line. If you want more than that, then you pay for it and stay elsewhere.
The only really negative comment I have to make is that the entrance hall wasn't always kept as clean and tidy as it should have been (in particular the bathrooms there) and I did point this out to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I read the reviews here before booking for the hotel and boy was I surprised with the hot and humidity in the room we stayed in. We stayed for two nights and because the "air freshener/recycler" was out of service or probably not working because the stale smell stayed in the room and when we left the window opened for few hours a group of bugs and beetles decided to hop in and keep us company so they moved us to the 9th floor from our original room on the 8th floor. Luckily the second room was facing away from the highway, towards the yards behind the hotel so it was much cooler in the morning and night and we didn't sweat throughout the night anymore. The breakfast was very good though, I would say that the breakfast superseded the room in terms of quality. If you are going to book this hotel, you might want to book with breakfast it will cheer you up, if you had a bad night's sleep. Yes they do have nutella, among other jams and they're really not that bad. They also have cheese sticks, milk, hot water, juice, an array of tea and coffee selections, coffee machine, hot chocolate, cereals, yogurts (light and normal) butter, honey, croissants, breads, toaster and water. No one stopped us from taking one too many cheese sticks, that's for sure

My suggestion to you is when you book for this hotel here, ask for the room away from the highway because it's hot there; with the sun rising and setting, as well as the car noise.

To get to this hotel from Gare du Nord take the Metro Line 1 heading towards Chateu de Vincennes and get down at St. Mande, from there it's only 15 mins walk to the hotel. This Metro line also stops at all the popular tourist attractions (Louvre Museum, Bastille, St Paul, Champs Elyees, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Chaletet, Gare De Lyon) without the need to change to other Metro lines.

This hotel is located in a residential areas so its safe to wander around at night to the local pubs and restaurants, the service is better and the prices are slightly cheaper than in central Paris. Bear in mind that on Sundays the whole place is a dead town so you will have to take the Metro to downtown for shopping.

They have plenty of French designer boutiques here and the prices are reasonable. You will also find a coin-operated laundry shop on the main road that stays open till 10pm, but when we passed by it at 11 pm it was still open. There are plenty of pharmacies here, and just around the corner, literary 5 mins walk from the hotel you will find an Indian restaurant (for vegetarians)

Having heard so much about the mugging, daylight robbery and the scams run by local gypies and bohemians when we travelled we NEVER carried more than 100 euroes each, NO passport and we both used hidden wallets (from Travel Blue)

The hotel has:

separated toilet and shower with no locks (this is standard with all Ibis Budget hotels)
basin next to the bed
clean towels
4-5 hangers on an open 6 inch rod (this is their version of cupboard, again standard fixture with all Ibis Budget)
squeeze bottle for hand/hair/body and soap at the basin (not standard in all Ibis, some has soap only)
2 sterile plastic cup
a dustbin
a TV
the wifi is free, but you need to get login and password from the reception, if you stay for two days you need to get 2 wifi usernames and passwords because it expires after 24 hours. if there are 3 persons staying in the room, then you need 3 usernames + passwords
NONE OF THE ROOMS ACTUALLY LOCKS. The rooms have digitized 4 digit lock system but you can bypass it. They give you 4 digit number to lock/unlock your room with but I went into the room 2 times without using the password. All you have to do attempt to open the door twice. The first time, the door won't open but at the second attempt it will-without your 4 digit password. I tried this on our first room and the second room which they changed for us and both times no password needed. Good luck with your belongings.

Room Tip: high floor away from the highway, dont go for the view. its hot during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed here twice now, whilst visiting Paris to watch the Tour de France. I travel, by train, from my home in Munich and it is not so far on the Metro from Paris Est.

The hotel is not ban on top of a Metro station but close enough - 5 minute walk. Which is obviously good for arriving with luggage, plus getting onto the Metro to get out and about.

For the price I find these hotels fantastic. Clean and tidy and never shabby.

Breakfast is pretty basic but worth the money, imho. Its good to do at least once and watch the French tradition of dunking their bread in everything :-)

Will probably go back on my next trip too.

Staff have always been friendly and helpful and there is no problem speaking English. I don't know who started that rumour but I rarely have problems in france and even more so in Paris

Room Tip: If you don't mind going up and down in a lift, then got a room high up, for the views across Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Yes it was hot but it was just that time of season. Don't except much; no iron/board, no microwave, no fridge, no coffee maker, etc. But really, are you going to visit Paris to stay in your hotel? We just needed a place to rest at night and then hit the streets for most of the day. The room was clean and had just what we needed: shower, toilet, towels, bed, sheets, pillows.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

It will be fair for customer to mentioned on website about room location. We had a room 1013. Room faces to south and we had sunshine all day and all afternoon. We left room early in morning and you can imagine what was in the evening in room. Hot like in a hell. If we open a window it was same as we slept in a middle of highway. Noise and hot together.
I prepaid the room. So my question is who is the boos? Who is the chief in charge? Who said "You, Mr. Svab, you will have the bad room of all" Because I can't find the answer on question why we had this room. We prepaid the room. I hoped that is some advantige. Unfortunatelly, we didn't have.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank svavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,397 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#720 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes

Property: Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes
Address: 2 avenue Leon Gaumont | 20 Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,188 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes 2*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Vincennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing