We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably very good!”
Review of Le Louis Vins

Le Louis Vins
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Louis Vins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,309 of 17,283 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$63
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Description: A charming and captivating atmosphere is what makes our restaurant special. Our friendly staff is here to answer all your needs through our varied offer of dishes and beverages.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reliably very good!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We ate here twice on our recent trip to Paris and were delighted each time. I had blanquet de veau and my wife had veal kidneys, they were garnished with fried potatoes and green beans. They were both excellent and served in a copper saute pan. This is not "haute cuisine" but traditional bistro cooking and very good. I had Tart Tatin for desert and my wife had chocolate mousse. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    125
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful French food and service.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We returned to see if it was as good as we remembered from 2 years ago. It did not disappoint. Once again beautiful food, good service, good prices. Full of locals. The biggest challenge is deciding what to eat and drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant, Delicious Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stumbled across this restaurant whilst searching for somewhere to eat lunch in the Latin Quarter that didn't look just like every other tourist trap. Charming restaurant, very friendly staff (although they could probably have done with an extra pair of hands) and the food was excellent (especially the tarte tatin with salted caramel ice cream!). Chatted to a couple of other diners (also charming so it attracts nice people) who live just outside Paris and they said they go there every new years eve - quite a recommendation! Whilst there were some tourists in there the majority of the clientele appeared to be Parisiennes / french people which is usually a good sign of the quality of the place. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old Time Traditional Place Delivers”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Being that we are staying near Place Maubert we started walking up the hill further into the 5th and we came upon this restaurant and made note to try it out because they had Cassoulet as a house specialty – and we did several days later. This is an old style place, blonde wood paneling plaster figurines, etc.

The food was very reasonably priced much more so than other places just a few blocks down the hill, and very tasty. We arrived around 8 and it was close to empty but by the time we left 90 minutes later it was totally bustling with both locals and Americans. This isn’t a fine dining gourmet experience, but doesn’t pretend to be one either - just good solid traditional French food. They carry on the old tradition of opening a bottle of wine for you and just charging you for the amount that you drink – how nice. In addition to the cassoulet we also had a veal poelie, quite decent. If yu don’t make a reservation, go earlier than 8:30.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeJay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good location in central area. Cozy interrior design - even very nice fresh flowers on tables. Nice and hepfull staff. Very tasty french food. Good variety of wine. Very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElenaKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Louis Vins also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Louis Vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing