We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but a noisy stay”
Review of Hotel Le Six

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Six
Ranked #21 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed at Hotel Le Six for 4 nights at the end of March for our 30th wedding anniversary. The room was good and clean, the bed was comfortable and there was a very good shower. There was free wi-fi. The hotel is in a good part of Paris, easy access to the tourist areas but not quite as busy or hectic. There are bars and restaurants around. We ate the first night at La Timbre which the hotel recommended and booked for us and we enjoyed.

The exchange rate isn't kind to us at the moment and we did find Paris expensive. A glass of wine in the hotel bar was 10 euros - but 5 euros elsewhere. We bought a Paris museum pass which was good value and we found the metro easy (buy a carnet of 10 tickets from the m/c at the station or from the eurostar buffet which works out cheaper).

Our room rate included breakfast which was very good - a good range of hot and cold on the buffet and the breakfast service was good.

The one downside to our stay was the noise. We had a street facing room on the third floor and there was a lot of noise during the night - people shouting and traffic noise - which kept us awake. Also there was building work taking place in the building next door which disturbed us every morning at 8.30 a.m. A bit early when breakfast is served until 11 a.m. We did mention it to reception a couple of times and again when we checked out. We felt that they didn't really know how to handle a complaint - a shrug of the shoulder wasn't really good enough for us when we had paid 260 euros per night. In our reservation we had asked them to choose a nice room for us for our anniversary and for our first trip to Paris. Unfortunately this didn't seem to work out and we wouldn't return or recommend the hotel to others unless they could guarantee a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room - not street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction-lesix, Manager at Hotel Le Six, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Dear sir/madame,

We thank you for staying at the Hotel Le Six .It is with regret that we have learnt your deep disappointment about the noise in the room.
The rooms have double glass windows, which protect from the noise, if the windows are closed. Unfortunately we do not have any influence on the noise of the neighbours. Your complaints at the reception were transmitted to the management and we have asked the owners of the construction work next door, to start the work later.
We have well noted that you are coming to Paris to celebrate you wedding anniversary and we have provided the special welcome treatment for you. Based on availability we can provided upgrade.
Unfortunately in your reservation, there was no request for a quiet room and we would recommend you to note this for your next stay, as we can provide you with a room facing the courtyard.

We are hoping to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Jan Mejsnar
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

Took our teenageGrandaughter along for our first Paris visit (8 nights) and found this lovely small hotel a perfect solution. The Paris Subway system is superb and easy to use, and really all you need to get around. Le Six is within a 5 minute walk of 4 stations that will get you quickly and safely to any place in town. Hotel is on a quiet side street but very near all the restaurants, shopping, banks and whatever you might need. A couple of blocks from an good observation deck(only tall building in central Paris). Everyone at the hotel spoke great English (we speak almost no French), and was extremely helpful. Do not worry about the language problem when going to Paris but be very careful where you exchange money!! Restaurant directly across the street from Le Six is superb!! Cathedral next door is lovely- go in and look around. Room was large enough for the 3rd person despite generally small rooms in Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jm61285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We booked Hotel Le Six based on Tripadvisor and as usual, it was just perfect. The location is in the Latin Quarters area and it is very close to 2 subway stops, in addition to being in a very convenient location with many little restaurants close by.

The rooms are very clean and new with flat screen tv (which we didn't even use) and the beds are very nice and comfortable.

Each morning they serve a wonderful full breakfast in the dining area which is probably better than a breakfast you would pay for outside at a restaurant.

The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. We are so glad we booked Le Six. You would not regret it. We definitely want to come back to Paris and to this hotel itself.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinnabun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

A very good little hotel. Comfortable, crisp clean sheets. Hotel Le Six has modern amenities and good design. Breakfast selection and room was a good way to start the day. We would have no qualms about recommending this hotel and would happily book a stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We had a deluxe room located in 5th floor with a street view. The hotel is contemporary with nice rooms and great bathrooms. Staff friendly. Excellent breakfast.Convinient location (good for the Metro). I love a nice and quiet street off of busy Raspaul. I believe that our 5-day trip in Paris and the entire experience were so awesome because of our stay in this Hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Vesna019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My wife and I were looking for a comfortable base for a long weekend in Paris, we used Trip Advisor and found this gem. It is contemporary, wet room bathrooms, flat screen TV, SPA, and a King size bed with nice linen.

It is situated in a side street near Montpanasse within a couple of minutes walk of 3 metro stations which gives quick access to all other parts of Paris. We travelled Eurostar and it is 30 minutes from Gare du Nord without having to change lines. Our welcome was perfect. Our room was on the first floor near the lift shaft, but my wife who travels a lot and is a very light sleeper said it was the quietest city central hotel she had ever stayed in. Our room although not large was plenty big enough. It is furnished in contempoary modern style, nice wooden floors, safe, free wi fi and excellent bedside lights (how often is the light so poor it is impossible to read a book in bed at night!).

Our rate included the breakfast buffet which was all you could want (unless of course full English is your bag). Staff were very helpful in booking local restaurants. Unfortunately there is a restaurant directly opposite which has an excellent rating on Trip Advisor but was closed the Saturday and Sunday we stayed.

Le Six has a nice looking Spa but we just did not have enough time to use it. I would without reservation recommend the Hotel and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

So, my review is a little late, because it's been almost a year since I stayed there with my brother. We travelled to France because my brother had some business to take care of in Nantes, and we wanted to see Paris for a few days before flying home. I was the travel agent, and after a couple months of checking out hotels online, I decided on le Six.

The stay didn't get off to a very good start. We arrived an hour after check-in started, but had to wait in the lobby for 30 minutes while they finished cleaning the room. After that, we head up to the room to chill out, and after a few minutes a hotel employee and new guest opened the door and came in (they had apparently double-booked our specific room). I imagine that was pretty weird for the other hotel guest, to walk into their room and see 2 lanky dudes laying on their beds with expressions like, 'what in the hell?' Both of those aspects of our stay at le Six were annoying, but not something that ruined our time there.

After we got settled in and toughed through those 2 minor issues, the hotel was great. We had free internet and the bathroom was pretty sweet too. In Nantes, we had been staying in a dorm/loft setup that was nice, but not exactly clean/comfortable. So when we got to chill out and sleep on beds that weren't 15 years old and smelly, we certainly took advantage. The staff was very nice and helpful, and we were able to relax for a few nights before heading back home.

It's a bit of a walk if you want to head over to the Louvre, or even longer for the Eiffel Tower. That being said, the location is sweet and there's plenty of food, groceries, and fun close by. I definitely enjoyed my time there, and would recommend the hotel to anyone I talked to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdog423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#26 of 1,805 in Paris
820 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#2 of 1,805 in Paris
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#11 of 1,805 in Paris
1,235 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,805 in Paris
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Six

Address: 14, rue Stanislas, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paris
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#11 Spa Hotel in Paris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £157 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Six 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Six Hotel, near Luxembourg Gardens, between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, offers you an outstanding Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le 6
Le Six Hotel
Le Six Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing