We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Ages ”
Review of A la Biche au Bois

A la Biche au Bois
Ranked #754 of 18,828 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$22 - US$43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bastille
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We had a really good meal with excellent friendly service. The portions were, if anything, over generous. Egg mayonnaise had been recommended and it was totally unlike the usual fare - really excellent. The coq au vin was also extremely good. Overall we had a very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

Paris can be a very expensive city in which to eat out. When you find a restaurant that combines great food and wine, superb service at affordable prices it behoves one to share this information with the travelling public.

We had heard about la Biche au Bois before leaving Ireland and had it on our list to visit along other restaurants boast quasi- famous chefs but with the prospect of a hefty bill at the end of the night. Being close to Gare de Lyon (also Bastille) we took the metro and walked a few blocks to the restaurant only to find that we were not the only people who had done their research as there was a small queue outside the door even before the restaurant opened at 7pm.
Once inside we were greeted by smiling multi- lingual staff who were only too willing to help. We quickly realized what a little jewel this restaurant really is amid a sea of over priced mediocrity. The tables are close together which only helped to generate friendly conversation with tour neighbours from Sweden, Norway, Switzerland and not forgetting the large contingent of regulars from the local area. This is a true litmus test of any restaurant.
We chose the €30 menu with an excellent St Estephe win. The choice of starters, entrees , cheese and deserts is more than adequate to cover all culinary tastes.
We started with a pate de champagne and terrine de chevreuil, Duck and filet steak formed our main courses to be followed by a lovely selection and generous serving of French chesses . Crepes suzettes and coffee completed a wonderful meal and dining experience. With two kir as an aperitif the bill came to €107.00. Fantastic value for the fare served up.
A la Biche du Bois will most definitely on our list for every future visit to Paris. Thoroughly recommended.
,

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Farrocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Staying near Gare de Lyon we found this restaurant via Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. I started with a red wine and plum brandy aperitif, which was certainly alcoholic! Followed by escargots, andouille and cheese. The staff were helpful checking that I knew what andouille was!They also were happy to converse in French or English or in my case both! The cheese board was superb an excellent selection. Others had terrine, salmon rillettes, pepper steak and veal. Four of us are with wine for under 40 euros each. The restaurant is very popular so it maybe crowded, not a problem for us, worth a visit .

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 409johns409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We were two mature couples staying at a nearby hotel that recommended a la Biche. We booked earlier in the day (essential) and joined the queue at 7pm opening time. Two waiters one experienced and one much younger were great. When they discovered our poor french assisted our navigating the menu in English. We went for the formula entre, main, cheese and dessert (31 Euros) we had a bottle of Rose between us. The food was great and the tables all filled and the queue grew longer. We were well attended to without pressure to move on. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal start to finish and headed back to our hotel nicely content having had a great day.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank piripiballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Very tasty 4 course menu. The service is very good and the restaurant has a very authentic atmosphere. It was a perfect place for a dinner!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Travel_Sash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed A la Biche au Bois also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to A la Biche au Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.