We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Chose La Ferrandaise For Our First Night in Paris This Year”
Review of La Ferrandaise

La Ferrandaise
Ranked #342 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“We Chose La Ferrandaise For Our First Night in Paris This Year”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

La Ferrandaise is an excellent restaurant, well-situated for enjoying a delicious meal after an early evening walk through the Luxembourg Gardens. Thoroughly jet-lagged yet determined to keep going, the walk and lovely dinner were just the thing to get us back on track. The food was superb and well-presented. The staff were exceedingly respectful, helpful, and nice; they really made the evening quite enjoyable and a lot of fun!

Reservations are highly recommended. Le Ferrandaise posts the monthly menu on their website, so we were able to get a "sneak preview" which helped immensely in our tired state! The portions are generous so that the Three course Menu at €35 per person plus wine, is quite adequate. Next time though I will definitely try the Six-course Tasting Menu at €48, just because I enjoyed the meal so much. The small surcharge for the foie gras and the veal with crystallized turnips and pistachios from the Puy-de-Dome region, was well worth it. However, there are ample options to suit every taste included with the €35 menu. The desserts were the perfect end to a delicious meal; for reasons already mentioned we declined coffee. It was a great way to start our holiday in Paris!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    180
    39
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great food here - sensible portions of extremely tasty, skilled cooking. Auvergnat specials and just gorgeous. Have the veal and rosemary . Great service, ambience and everything. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottishbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb service, wonderful food.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our first dinner in Paris, and it was memorable. We did a lot of research before going and it paid off. First, the staff was not at all condescending and were friendly and helpful, even thought we do not speak French. Expensive, but it was a quality meal and a great evening. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had one meal at La Ferrandaise and found it to be a nice experience. Great service, food and atmosphere. We enjoyed the varied menu and thought it was a great place to experience parson food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioManzenetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“C'est Formidable!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I love the staff at this favorite restaurant. No fuss, no hassles and great service. Help tips on wine that I didn't know and not made to feel lacking for it either. The food is always the star here but it sure helps to have such excellent staff. Especially the tall, and as my wife called him very handsome gentleman, who spoke English very well and humored my poor French. The beef and veal here are to die for...it is now a tradition for us to attend here on my birthday when we come to Paris in May. Each year it is the highlight of our dinning out in Paris. Many thanks to the dear staff and the owner at La Ferrandaise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMorris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ferrandaise also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Ferrandaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing