We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great paris bistro”
Review of Gai Moulin Bistro

Gai Moulin Bistro
Ranked #516 of 18,122 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Description: Gai Moulin Bistrot is one known as one of the first and oldest gay bistrot in Paris and is now an open, lively, friendly and bistrot for EVERYONE including families! Gay Moulin Bistrot offers great traditional cuisine and has the advantage to mix a cosy intimate atmosphere while being large enough to host big groups ( special price for 15-20 people) with its 100 seats spread in 3 big rooms! Reservation recommended for dinner.
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here twice. Great food. Great staff. Great atmosphere. Absolutely loved it. Highly recommended.

Thank woodyandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legaimoulin, Propriétaire at Gai Moulin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

I am glad that everything was enjoyable when dining at my restaurant.

Thank you for dining at my restaurant as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

As an owner/operator for over 25 years, my customer feedback has always been pivotal in making my future customer experience better.

I look forward to seeing you again when you do return and please do recommend to all your friends.

Best Regards,
Christophe Moulin-Violeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our long weekend in Paris. Great mixture of gay and straight with good french food and the friendliest staff we found all weekend. We will be back next time we are in Paris. Thanks Gai Moulin !!! .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legaimoulin, Propriétaire at Gai Moulin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre visite au Gai Moulin Bistro .
Nous sommes ravis de lire votre commentaire, et de constater que vous avez apprécié l'atmosphère du Gai Moulin Bistro .
C'est toujours un plaisir de découvrir que nos efforts pour renouveler et varier nos plats vous séduisent. En espérant vous revoir très prochainement, Bien cordialement,
Christophe Moulin-Violeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had dinner there twice because we liked the food, the staff and the prices the first time we tried it based on a friend's recommendation. The quality of the food preparations was great with some wonderful daily specials in appetizer, main course and dessert categories. Their snails were yummy as were the other dishes we tried. Very clean, good bread and butter and nice wine selection. The prix fixe dinner was a very good option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GandGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legaimoulin, Propriétaire at Gai Moulin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre visite au Gai Moulin Bistro .
Nous sommes ravis de lire votre commentaire, et de constater que vous avez apprécié l'atmosphère du Gai Moulin Bistro .
C'est toujours un plaisir de découvrir que nos efforts pour renouveler et varier nos plats vous séduisent. En espérant vous revoir très prochainement, Bien cordialement,
Christophe Moulin-Violeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Recommended by French colleague who works in area.

Offers a meal choice of appetizer, entree and dessert...or just choose two of three.

Something for everyone from the menu, simple and tasty lunch fare, and good prices for the area.

Tip: Recall that prices in Paris included Value Added Tax and service charge built in. No additional tipping is necessary or expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legaimoulin, Propriétaire at Gai Moulin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre visite au Gai Moulin Bistro .
Nous sommes ravis de lire votre commentaire, et de constater que vous avez apprécié l'atmosphère du Gai Moulin Bistro .
C'est toujours un plaisir de découvrir que nos efforts pour renouveler et varier nos plats vous séduisent. En espérant vous revoir très prochainement, Bien cordialement,
Christophe Moulin-Violeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I just walked past this place one night and decided to eat there as we liked the menu and were very kindly welcomed in by the staff. While it was crowded it was not overly stuff like most places, which was nice. We enjoyed a wonderful meal here - both of us has a starter, main, a beer and a bottle of wine, all for around 80 Euro's - a deal in this city for sure! I would definitely say it was the best meal we had in all of Paris hands down. Not only was the food great, the service was as well. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, we really enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legaimoulin, Propriétaire at Gai Moulin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre visite au Gai Moulin Bistro .
Nous sommes ravis que vous avez apprécié l'atmosphère et le service du Gai Moulin Bistro .
Vous qualifiez notre cuisine d’OGM comme je en sais pas ce qu’est une cuisine OGM et industrielle ( nous avons 7 cuisiniers ) viande trop cuite ok on change chaque fois que la cuisson ne correspond pas à la commande du client, les frites sont des frites Mac Kaine et oui à 23.50 et non 24€ ent+plat+dess vous ne trouverez pas de frites maison dans le Marais peut être chez notre voisin le Who’s mais les plats sont à + de 20€ je vous laisse donc y retourner puisque vous laissez une critique dithyrambique sur ce même site… Bien cordialement
Christophe Moulin-Violeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gai Moulin Bistro also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Gai Moulin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing