We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Sushi chef”
Review of Comme des Poissons - CLOSED

Comme des Poissons
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trocadero
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nasty Sushi chef”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Yes,the fish is fresh,which is close to impossible to find in a Parisian sushi restaurant and I absolutely do not recommend eating sushi in France, Spain and especially Paris.You can get ill,as the sushi isn't fresh enough and the quality is very poor.But at Comme des Poissons,the chef is not just unfriendly but rude and doesn't like people. In a sushi place the chef's attitude is very important as he's preparing your dishes in front of you,and in this tiny,old,ugly place,completely devoid of atmosphere,with you.It's also quite expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MLucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aigues-Mortes, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is really what a sushi bar looks like in tokyo.
The chef, Kino, is something...
I highly recommend that you skip the menu, and ask him to create whatever he feels (telling what you like and don't, of course). The result will be astonishing and memorable.
It might be hard to find a place, it's tinny.
Quite a lot of japans, can't be bad!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredtecos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Food good, but staff manners could improve”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I mentioned this restaurant in another review, so I had better fill the gap. For this review I will focus on the food, because I did not appreciate the lesson from one of the staff on how to eat sushi (she objected to my taking a small piece of ginger with it, instead of between bites).

The restaurant is basic to the extreme. It is small, with a traditional bench in front of the chef (Japanese style) holding about 8-9 people, depending on how friendly you are, and a pokey downstairts room - so decor (and service) is not the reason for a visit. However, the sushis are really fesh and truly excellent, and made before your very eyes by the chef. Forget about the minor downsides, if you like sushi, try this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Seriously?????!!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Ok, I do not understand why people made a fuzz about this restaurant.
I have to say this is The Worst restaurant I've ever been too!
The chef is sooo rude! The place looks miserable and filthy!
The food is not good either, the fish is fresh but that's about it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic sushi, staff is rude”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Nothing fantastic in this place, sushi are very basic, rice is well cooked but the tuna was a brownish color. you seat at a counted with the sushi chef cutting the fish and preparing the sushi in front of you, the chef is very blunt and quite aggressive making you feel very uncomfortable and not welcome. I regret coming to this restaurant, overall a bad experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerrybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comme des Poissons also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing