We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Mood - CLOSED

Mood
Price range: US$10 - US$47
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Champs-Elysees
Description: Mood is one of the highlights of the many places to dine and hang out on the Champ Elys��es. Opposite the Louis Vuitton shop and Fouquet's , it really is the place to be. Mood stretches out over 3 floors and 1000 m�� with several themes depending on the area. A mixture of oriental and western cultures have influenced both the d��cor and the cuisine. Using fresh local products and exotic spices the chef Baptiste Drocheiner creates inventive and colourful fusion food. African, Asian and Eastern influences as well as traditional French cooking all have their place. Try the warmed goats cheese with sweetbread and roasted figs or foie gras stuffed with chestnuts and raspberries. The first floor provides an oriental haven away from the bustle of the Champs Elys��es while the mezzanine hall area has a more trendy pop atmosphere. On Friday and Saturdays around midnight the restaurant becomes more of a club with a DJ playing funk, soul and house.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Off the Champs-Elysees, across from the Louis Vuitton store. Tries to be trendy, the staff really tries, but the main reason for going to a restaurant is the food. In this case I can only say: do not go here for food. Not worth it. You can better spend your money somewhere else. No understanding of what they are trying to do. Still figuring out the style, the flavors intended and the compostion and amount of the food is substandard. The tables are low, the couches to sit on are low. Nothing good to say, besides what I already mentioned: the staff really tries, but also half of them do not speak another laguage besides French.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorJaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    40
    45
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nightmare! A restaurant to avoid!”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This restaurant has only 1 thing that avoids its closure: its location on the champs elysees. The service is the worst ever. I explain u my experience. We reserve for 22:30 we arrive in the restaurant and the lady at the entrance tells us that our table was still occupied and that they were juat paying the bill.... Cool we sit and we wait... 10, 20 ,40, 50 minutes. When 1 our was passed i go to the lady asking what the hell was happening to that bill... She apologize and ahe let us to go to our table. we go on the first floor but.a new sofa was waiting.for us (a waiting area). Still np table and of course there were guys just payong the bill. We re sit. They reassure us: just 10 mins dont worry... We order some cocktails and we wait. 30 mins no table and still no cocktails. 40 mins the cocktails arrive and i go to ask to the manager what the hell was happening to that BILL.......of course there was no bill... And no table. They told us that we had to wait still 30 mins... And i did not tell you that at the same time other persons friends of the waiters and arrived after ius obtained the table... That was enough... We decide to go away after having waited 2 hours, no food and just a bit of drink that the waiter wanted us also to pay... Of Course! Worst nightmare ever! i hope.that this recensions helps you to do not make the same mistake as me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manche, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good staff - food did not match up”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A very good address - good welcome by staff. Well decorated. I was taken there for a special birthday and chose smoked salmon as starter which was served with avocado and guacamole and a type of mexican tostada, which was stale.
Chose Thai chicken to follow - no taste of thai at all. Was supposed to be with coriander rice - no sign of coriander but a sprig of flat leaved parsley - maybe that was the substitute!
Excellent dessert - half-cooked chocolate cake with ice cream. However have had the same at local restaurants at half the cost.
Decor and staff - very good - position excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“too pompous and and pricy”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I've been to this place for lunch and I could not find anything special about this place that could possibly justify the cost.

the decor looks like a kitsch modern chinese lounge use to be hip but not anymore.

the food was too pricy and taste so so. Nothing soecial about the card.

the service was quite ok depends on each waiter's MOOD of the day.


Just worth to sit there in the middle of the afternoon for a silent coffee break !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad First Impression of Parisian Cuisine”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The restaurant had all the potential for a great experience - stylish space, good menus, good-looking staff. Unfortunately, the food did not match. My wife's "Thai" chicken & rice bowl (I think that's what it was) was so unflavourful that no amount of salt could save it. Very disappointing. My steak did not really look appetizing and tasted OK, but thankful the French were able to deliver on my side of Fries. Our waiter was cheerful and helpful, which was the only good thing about this place. Way too expensive for the quality. Skip this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adymm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mood also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing