We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“l'aioli c'est ici”
Review of L'Ecurie - CLOSED

L'Ecurie
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“l'aioli c'est ici”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

we just had a great experience in this restaurant off the rue mouffetard craze. we chose the 17 euro menu and were treated with a genuine pomme au ceindre - potato cooked in ashes - with fantastic butter seasoning, a very tendre and tasty steak au moutarde, plus free sangria, free fantastic aioli sauce and dessert. for a honestly good dinner at reasonable prices in the latin quarter, do not miss this place, with a view on saint etienne du mont church.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank manugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    101
    28
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great character and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

L'Ecurie is one of our favourite restaurants in Paris, one we always make a point to visit at least once while we are there. The building dates from the 17th century and was originally a stables (hence the name). It would appear that little has changed in the last 300-odd years and the restaurant is decorated with many old bits and pieces from it's earlier life. The tables are very close together so if you don't like having strangers at a table very close to you, you probably won't like it here. There is a downstairs seating area but it is in what feels like a vault, with no windows and can be a bit claustrophobic. Ask for a table upstairs if you think this might be an issue. During the summer you can sit outside and enjoy the view of the gorgeous St Etienne du Mont church (worth a visit) and watch folks walk past.

As for food, the menu is a bit limited but if you like steak and chips, you will be happy. I always order the same thing from the set menu (€17.50 for 3 courses for dinner): green salad with blue cheese for a starter, grilled lamb steak and chips for main and chocolate mousse for dessert. You will also get a glass of sangria as an apperitif and a glass of calvados as a digestif. The meal comes with lovely bread and aioli. It's all plain and simple food but cooked well and tastes good. There is an a la carte menu if you prefer, with things such as andouilette sausage. But our main reason for going is the atmosphere - and to get a good grilled steak!

Great service, you won't be rushed (proper Parisian restaurants will not rush you) so sit back and enjoy the evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank diamond_skies_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A stable complete with genuine manger and genuine food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

In the lee of St Etienne du Mont in the Latin Quarter, and with an interior that goes back to the late 17th century and cellars to the 12th century, L’Ecurie oozes history from every pore. The interior is rustic but genuine and not faux-rustic ; there is even a genuine manger in situ as befits a former stables.
This was lunch and whilst there is a 3 course menu for 17 euros we plumped for a main and a pudding. The lamb cutlets and the rump steak were both excellent as were the accompanying chips/fries ; no nonsense about trendy matchstick chips here. Two large profiteroles served warm were excellent as was the superb cheese platter. The latter at 6.50 euros was the bargain of the last few days : 4 different cheeses presented at a perfect room temperature. A half litre of quaffable Cote du Rhone at 6.50€ and a Calvados digestif on the house meant our cup had runneth over. One minus: the bread was suspiciously aged but that did not detract from an excellent experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vintage place”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Felt like I was in an old tavern much like the one in the first LOTR movie. Great atmosphere! The food was pretty great and very affordable. I had three courses + wine and I paid like 21 euro. Glad I checked it out!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrehanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old-fashioned experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have been here with a group of friends.
The place is very close to Pantheon and Latine Quartier.
The place is dark, the stairs are high and there is not a lot of lights but literally it seems to be in the Middle Ages.
The waiter was kind and willing to satisfy every request.
I ordered the foie gras and lamb chops. Great!!
We also ordered a good pinot noir and the waiter offered us sangria at the beginning and spirits at the end. We spent 23 euro with everything included.
If you are looking for a fancy place don't come here. But if you want to try a new environment, eat properly and save money this place is for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ecurie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing