We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Restaurant Fogon - CLOSED

Restaurant Fogon
Price range: US$40 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Fogon has some very creative dishes using amazing ingredients and flavors. Great paella and wine list. Decor is a bit outdated but this place is all about the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    92
    42
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Spanish implosion”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I went to this former michelin starred restaurant. This place was meant to be the nearest thing to a Spanish eating experience in Paris. We were very disappointed.
First of all the inside of the restaurant looked a bit like a McDonalds. Really no character at all. The meal consisted of three courses. An anti tapas, the so called tapas and then the paella. The anti tapas was just a few small bites on a plate. The tapas was nothing like ant tapas you have ever seen in Spain. In actual fact it was just a first course of three diverse dishes on the same plate. Was the paella good then? Absolutely not it was incredibly dry and had a few langoustines thrown on top. It looked uninspiring and that is how it tasted. If my wife opened up next door and cooked her paella interpretation this place would close within a week. Then some other unexplained things. Why did the bread come in a cotton bag? Why was the cutlery and the napkin in a table draw? Who knows? With a price of Euro 80 per head I would steer clear if I were you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HastingsBanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brasilia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Madrid in Paris”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Tired of the french cuisine, me and my lovely wife decided to try El Fogon.
The experience was extraordinary. The service was perfect, and the paellas match with the gretatest spanish wines avaiable on site. Try the "riz au langoustines", which is a nice paella with some small lobsters (lagoustines) on top. in the end, go straight to the "tapas sucrés", a nice surprise.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pereira_Alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fageddabout Fogon”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

booking a Sunday lunch as a solo diner, the menu listed the tapas as only for two, and left really no other choice than a risotto that was poor (i usually love squid ink pasta). Little attention was paid for service, the bread was stale, and the wine clearly opened a long time ago when ordered by the glass. ooph. what a waste of 50Euro.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HighFlyerORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“you have to be kidding”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I've had paella in Spain, both in restaurants and by locals, prepared numerous variations thereof, and I can tell you this place doesn't elevate the dish to any new heights. Had a too clever-by-half "Arroz a Banda, Sin Banda." (you could almost hear the chef congratulating himself on the sheer cleverness of this formulation.). Oversalted. The tapas? OK, if somewhat lean and precious.

$12 Euro's for a little glass of Manzanilla? $8 Euro's for a portion of Catalan pa' amb tomaquet?

The mark up on the wines was ridiculous. The desserts were $15 Euro's. I didn't even bother to consider coffee.

Honestly, what's the big deal about this place? It's taken some of the humblest food from Spain and tried to put some sort of haute cuisine spin to it. So if you have lot of money to blow, by all means go here if you don't wish to sully your hands with the masses at a neighborhood restaurant where you'll get the same or better food and drinks for a fraction of the price.

Overrated and overpriced.

Helpful?
4 Thank Wile_E_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fogon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing