We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Spanish cuisine - great dinner for 2” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Fogon - CLOSED

Restaurant Fogon
Price range: US$39 - US$55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish cuisine - great dinner for 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I live in Paris and as he's a chef, we like to eat out a lot! We decided to opt for some Spanish cuisine and found favorable reviews of Fogon on our trusted source parisbymouth.com.

Living in Paris means you often crave cuisine other than traditional French. So we were very excited to try this place.

We started off with some small plates and sangria which was delicious! The bread with tomato spread for a starter was a bit bland, but still good. The chorizo appetizer, in my opinion, was too much for 2 people - could have done well with 1/4 the amount. But good flavor! i some of their

Then we ordered the jambon paella. Really loved this dish - very traditional, flavorful and filling! We couldn't finish it all...made us wish we could have asked for a doggie bag!

All in all a nice evening. Would definitely recommend to friends and will probably take guests there in the future!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindseyKentParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    92
    42
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Fogon has some very creative dishes using amazing ingredients and flavors. Great paella and wine list. Decor is a bit outdated but this place is all about the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Spanish implosion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I went to this former michelin starred restaurant. This place was meant to be the nearest thing to a Spanish eating experience in Paris. We were very disappointed.
First of all the inside of the restaurant looked a bit like a McDonalds. Really no character at all. The meal consisted of three courses. An anti tapas, the so called tapas and then the paella. The anti tapas was just a few small bites on a plate. The tapas was nothing like ant tapas you have ever seen in Spain. In actual fact it was just a first course of three diverse dishes on the same plate. Was the paella good then? Absolutely not it was incredibly dry and had a few langoustines thrown on top. It looked uninspiring and that is how it tasted. If my wife opened up next door and cooked her paella interpretation this place would close within a week. Then some other unexplained things. Why did the bread come in a cotton bag? Why was the cutlery and the napkin in a table draw? Who knows? With a price of Euro 80 per head I would steer clear if I were you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HastingsBanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brasilia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Madrid in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Tired of the french cuisine, me and my lovely wife decided to try El Fogon.
The experience was extraordinary. The service was perfect, and the paellas match with the gretatest spanish wines avaiable on site. Try the "riz au langoustines", which is a nice paella with some small lobsters (lagoustines) on top. in the end, go straight to the "tapas sucrés", a nice surprise.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pereira_Alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fageddabout Fogon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

booking a Sunday lunch as a solo diner, the menu listed the tapas as only for two, and left really no other choice than a risotto that was poor (i usually love squid ink pasta). Little attention was paid for service, the bread was stale, and the wine clearly opened a long time ago when ordered by the glass. ooph. what a waste of 50Euro.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HighFlyerORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fogon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing