We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware Sunday Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Nathalie

Chez Nathalie
Reserve with
Chez Nathalie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,758 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Description: Situated in the well known village de La Butte aux Cailles just a few steps from Place d'Italie, on a small hidden place with a comfortable terrace,the restaurant offers a wide range of sea and river products . you can enjoy great food, wonderful wines and the cosy atmosphere that the restaurant offers.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware Sunday Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

A disappointing last dinner in Paris. The waiter was unwelcoming and the food overpriced, especially when we were charged for a starter that we didn't order. A correction was quickly made but only after we pointed out the "error." Based on other reviews perhaps we didn't have the A team on Sunday evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 586CarolF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    51
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little gem in the 13th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner here with a French friend. Two of us has the daily fish special, and the sea bream was excellent, very simply prepare with vegetables on the side. For dessert a molten chocolate cake. We sat outside and it wasn't busy so the service was attentive and gracious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nergui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Rather good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The place has a nice ambiance. We have eaten there 3 or 4 times, and mostly we found the food good. Sometimes excellent, sometimes rather poor. We never saw it full, and service as ok, fast enough and certainly very friendly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A nice place which needs some improvement!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Chez Nathalie is a nice cosy restaurant next to the Butte aux Cailles neighbourhood. It provides tasty food, but still needs some improvement, especially as far as the main courses are concerned. The starters were good, but one of the dishes, merlan de boeuf aux échalotes, and the agneau kefta were somewhat poorly made, with the échalotes needing some better caramelization (they seemed to preserved ones, and not caramelized in place). The desserts were the best part: we had a fondant de chocolat with caramel beurre salé sauce, and a brioche au pain perdue with pear, which was indeed very well done. Overall it is a nice place, with a kind staff, but here and there it needs attention to detail and the preparation of some of the dishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretentions of mediocrity”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Front of house service was very slow. The guy was adept at not catching our eyes. First courses from a small menu were alright but nothing really to write home about. The second courses were plain weird. Two of us had a gambas that were coated in some musty, cheesey smelling stuff and were served on a bed of stirfried vegetables that were over heavy on the wine vinegar. Just did not work one little bit. The waiter was not doing the rounds and did not come to see how we were getting on. The others had a very dry lamb course that just didn't deliver either. Wine was good. But €150 for four and two courses only was a joke.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Nathalie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Nathalie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing