We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland food & over priced - not recommended”

Le Grenier de Notre Dame
Ranked #1,331 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland food & over priced - not recommended”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The food at this restaurant is flavourless and not good value for money, I would not recommend unless you are a fan of bland food. Not many vegan options for dessert either

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sam789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    171
    87
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and convenient”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This tiny restaurant is very conveniently situated on the left bank close to Notre Dame. The upstairs has low ceilings and curtains, and there are little low lamps on the tables, bringing an English country cottage to mind. Although the space is tiny, feng shui is invoked to avoid a cramped feeling, with chequered tiles, mirrors, and plants deployed to distribute chi in harmonious ways. As a result, this is a very cosy place to eat - recommended, then, for lovers. The food is influenced by Southern France and the Maghreb. It is tasty, but a little disappointing, because it is not very substantial. I am used to eating vegetarian couscous with heaps of delicious chick peas, but in their version the emphasis was on seitan as fake lamb and there were literally only a few chick peas- although it's true there was plenty of taste. My friend had the cassoulet, and said it was tasty, but not very filling. The next day, he hinted that the beans in the cassoulet had not been thoroughly cooked (though my two or three chick peas were absolutely fine, I have to say). We passed everything round the three of us to taste and while it's not true that everything tasted exactly the same, you could honestly say that everything had too much of a lemon flavour - including the felafel, which we all found a bit odd. The Cotes du Rhone in a jug was awful - tasteless but strongly alcoholic - we regretted drinking it. The tarte tatin was nice. Overall, I'd say that if you want to fill up after a day hiking round attractions, you'd need the full 3 courses to replenish your calories, which would set you back about 40 euros - a bit more than it's worth. You might also have to book, as it's apparently permanently full from Friday to Sunday evening. But if your real aim was romance, the charming atmosphere could be just what you want.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_K_250889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan & Vegeterian Food great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Le Grenier de Notre Dame has a great feel and atmosphere and is close to St Michaels and Notre Dame underground station.

The staff and friendly and helpful and the service is great and fast even when busy.

The food choice is great and the portion size is as well you will not be disappointed.

Definitely will visit on next journey to Paris!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegan food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've been there for lunch and we got the outdoor seat. That day, the weather is very sunny. We didn't expect the taste, but at here, the taste is really nice and the smoothies is superb. The staff who look yong is service minded and helpful. We definitely back there. Love!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A decent vegan choice”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We ended up having quite a few meals in this restaurant, enought to try the entire vegan menu. The dishes have a bit more of tofu/seitan ingredients than I like, but still, a very good choice. It's across the street from Notre Dame cathedral, and for the location, the price is excellent. If at all possible, try to get daily lunch, the price is far better than ordering from a menu. The place is small but has also a top floor. Be on time for lunch, as seats get taken very quickly. The servise is great, try one of their smoothies or fresh juices. The portions are ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UrskaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grenier de Notre Dame also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Grenier de Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing