We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy inexpensive place near the railway station.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
Ranked #828 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Handy inexpensive place near the railway station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Booked this hotel on loyalty points and because it is close to Gare Montparnasse in Paris.
It's a Holiday Inn so you know what you are going to get and don't expect too much. That said, they exceeded my expectations - holding various items I had asked to be posted to them for my arrival - generally helpful friendly service. Not what I had expected given some earlier reviews.
It's easy to get to from CDG airport - there's a Metro station (Gaite) entrance right outside the hotel door.
Didn't try the breakfast as there were plenty of cheaper cafes on Avenue du Maine.

I found I could walk easily to the Louvres, St German des Pres, Musee d'Orsay & the Eiffel tower.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgtnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    426
    224
    74
    49
See reviews for
207
355
82
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel, well located, next from Montparnasse station and Rue de la Gaite. Many theaters and restaurants around.
The room is well decorated, cleaned, not a big room but enough to have a pleasant stay
the only inconvenience was the lift with a small issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with bookinnfrance.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We've been there at the end of November till the 6th of December. The food, the service, the people, the kindness, the cleaness room - everything was just amazing!! Monia and all the people who worked at the hotel were kind, lovely and just wanted to help!
In front of the hotel there is a metro station! very easy and very comfortable!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIGareMontparnasse, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Keren S

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Gare Montparnasse on TripAdvisor!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that our location and level of service reached all your expectations

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in our hotel .

Best Regards

VISE Florian
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stay here for 5 nights. From my point of view the best thing in this hotel is the location and a metro station ( Gare Montparnasee ) is just few steps from the main entrance

I got a superior room with Montparnasse Cemetery view which is really not fun at all, i ask the front disk immediately to change my room to another one and they change it to double room with the main street view which is really more better from the superior rome

two points regarding the bathroom, Towels not provided immediately when you check in you have to wait for half hour maybe and then they give, the second point a bad smell every where in the bathroom

one day early morning i wake up hearing shouting comes outside the room and when i have a look i find two women from the room service shouting loudly to each other, which is really reflect bad image for the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed_majeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ahmed_majeed,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hostel is beautiful nd has a really good location right next to the main station but they overcharge for what they provide...
There's no restaurant in the hotel nd there's nothing in the hotel besides rooms...
Ambience is good but overpriced

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivam_Vig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Shivam V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Literally right outside the hotel is the gaite metro. It makes traveling very easy. I definitely recommend traveling around paris via the metro because it is simple and affordable. We stayed in a double bed. It was very comfortable and clean. It was,also, quiet at night in that area. I gave this hotel three stars instead of four because when we arrived, they didn't have parking available so we had to park down the block and pay double. The main reason we booked the hotel was for the parking. Also the staff was rather rude about the parking situation and rude to some of the other guests as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kerri M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you liked our convenient location. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our last stop on our two week trip in France that included stops in 10 different cities and hotels...we were tired after driving 2500 miles on our trip and this was a nice place to wind things up. The hotel is generally easy to find for Paris, the onsite parking was convenient though not free. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. We asked for and received a late check out without any problem or additional cost (as other hotels we stayed at wanted to charge an extra 50 euro to do that). We did not eat at this hotel. There are plenty of food choices in the area, and in fact, right across the street we had a lovely breakfast for 8 euros per person while the hotel charged twice that. There is a metro stop right outside as well, and the hotel is in walking distance to the train station. The only thing I did not like about the room we had was the bathroom. There is the typical separate room for the toilet, and another room with a shower and sink. There is no counter space for getting ready. The shower had one of those 2 foot wide glass doors, which I do not understand why it doesn't enclose the whole shower. Anyway, the shower was equipped with a hand held shower head as well as a rain shower head. When I turned on the water, the hand held shower head shot water over my shoulder and all over the bathroom door. By the time I was done taking a shower the whole room was wet because of the lack of a complete shower door. There were not a lot of towels available and I had to use all but the one I used to dry myself off to mop up the floor. The towels were on the thin side too. I liked that the bathroom had a towel warmer and a good hair dryer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear LSBRN,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the bathroom accommodations. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#361 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#503 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Gare Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Citadines Maine Montparnasse Paris
Montparnasse
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
#1,465 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse
Address: 79 avenue du Maine, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#396 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#478 Business Hotel in Paris
#636 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine will open on July 27th, 2007. Located 100 meters away from Montparnasse Train Station, near the metro Gaité. It is the perfect location for Business or Tourism in the heart of the Left bank.Ideally located between the Eiffel Tower and Luxembourg Garden, near Porte de Versailles, the hotel is easy to access. The Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has been fully renovated in a very modern style, with air conditioning. The WIFI access is free of charge. Our 99 rooms and 1 suite (75% are non smoking) have air conditioning. They are all fitted with LCD TV, Pay TV, minibar, individual safe. Some of them are designed for up to 3 people. They sometimes have a private terrace with a panoramic view.For your meetings, the Holiday Inn Paris Montparnasse Avenue du Maine has 3 major meeting rooms and 1 small room; all illuminated by natural light and can accept up to 80 people. They are air conditioned and are fully equipped with the latest technology (LCD TV, Videoprojecteur ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Paris Gare Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing