We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Leo le Lion

Leo le Lion
Ranked #10,183 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
South Pacific
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I liked the staff, and the place is popular with locals, which is a good sign. I thought the food was better than any of the cafe's on Rue Cler. Cramped with tables, but hey, that's France.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrivateMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rue Cler area gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were referred to this wonderful neighborhood jewel of a restaurant by a nearby shopkeeper the Saturday after Christmas. The restaurant is small but every effort is made to ensure your absolute comfort. The decor, food and most of all the attentive staff made for an outstanding dining experience. The Kir Royale is a house specialty and quite distinctive. We had oysters for an appetizer and then a delicious shrimp main course. The baked apple desert was wonderful as well. Most of the other customers were French and all seemed to be enjoying a wonderful night out. What makes Leo most memorable for us is the extreme congeniality and charm of the staff. We would make this a part of any Paris trip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was our second visit to Leo. We had really enjoyed it the first time. This time the food was good but the main course (veal chops) was enormous. Way to much. We had the feeling that Leo had lost a bit of its French charm and was catering, or trying to cater, to American tourists.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bondBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fine dining and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a small restaurant that offers very good food and attentive service, what you would expect in Paris. The restaurant is nicely decorated. You definitely feel like you are in a fancy establishment. Of course it is expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegoeater749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels, belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with too many tables but nice food !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Luckily the restaurant was almost empty when we visited in July - yet it was 8 pm when we entered. I wouldn't like to spend an evening there when it's full !
This is what I call bistro style, no nonsense food.

I was a bit astonished about the menu - it included, in plain Summer, a lot of dishes that are not really associated with Summer (some exceptions included melon and artichokes).

The portions were huge. No way we could eat it all. The waiter is quite a character, not rude or anyting, but out of the world.

It is located in a quiet street away from rue Cler, there is no outside dining (if you would like to go in Summer, ask for a seat next to the window or door to be able to look outside and have some air !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meskean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leo le Lion also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Leo le Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing