We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a Dim-Sum. Average chinese restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chine Massena

Chine Massena
Ranked #12,832 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$22 - US$59
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT a Dim-Sum. Average chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I've been to this restaurant on a sunday while looking for an Dim-sum. It's NOT a real Dim-Sum as stated on the reviews (you have to necessarily order "a la carte"). Also, it's not open Non Stop as stated on some reviews and the kitchen closes at 3. The service is just ok but slow. The food is average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    57
    20
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very good authentic chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Overall very good. We went for the dim sum, although I also had the pho-like meatball and beef noodle soup. The watercress fried with garlic was tasty and cooked correctly. The dim sum was also tasty, although not the best, it was respectable for Paris at the price point. The filling was tasty, although the dim sum did lack juice and the dumpling skins were on the thick side and lacked elasticity (e.g. feel apart when picked up by chop sticks). The dim sum carts were few and far between, though, and most people seemed to order separate in order to get their dishes (something which we ended up doing as well). Other items were spot on, so it is well worth a continued visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

yummy dim sum in a traditional environment where the carts are wheeled around to each table for the diner to make his/her selection, including old favorites such as chicken feet. Well worth the trip, though it is way out at the end of the metro lines. Prices are very reasonable and you can walk out of there quite content for roughly 17-20E each. Try for Sunday brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DIM SUM in Paris!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Finally! We had been looking for anything resembling a real dim sum restaurant in Paris for quite a while in vain, until we happened upon on a review of this place by accident while checking out reviews for another resto on TA. We are so happy, this place is so good and so like it should be. It's true that there are only 2 carts, one steamed, one fried food, but the place is not that vast either, and it seems that the carts are becoming a rarity, even in Hong Kong restaurants. What matters a lot in a place like this is the atmosphere, and here we felt like we were in China. The har gow, ha cheung fun, and also the shu mai were so yummy. It may not be Jing Fung in NYC, but there is no 1h30 wait, and the staff get health care ;-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conakry, Guinea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finally we have found Dim Sum in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great quality Dim Sum. Even though it's your typical busy, over Crowded Chinese restaurant on a Sunday the service was quick & friendly .I would recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 1307boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chine Massena also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chine Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing