We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good experience in a small cozy place”
Review of Le Vertbois - CLOSED

Le Vertbois
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Notre Dame / Marais
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very good experience in a small cozy place”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

a small place in a small street - but able to get a table without reservation - nice staff able to speak some english limited menu but enough choices of french specialties. I had chicken which was very tasty, my wife veal which was a little bland. Good wine, good dessert. Reasonable prices. Noise level acceptable. French atmosphere .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and really good food”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had been recommended to this restaurant by a friend who eats there regularly - we were not disappointed. The menu was simple and seasonal - asparagus with hollandaise sauce, maigret de canard (duck breast). We were impressed by the friendly service, the vibrant atmosphere and the good value for money. It's was one of the best meals we had in Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Service & Food”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We went here on a Saturday night getting the last table. They have a reasonable price for a set menu and you chose if you want to include desert with it or not. The service was really good as we speak little French. One of the waitress translated the menu for us into English and recommended some great dishes. The blood sausage (something I would not normally have) was great it was like a fancy but really tasty spring roll, my husband had the duck and mushrooms also really tasty. We would definitely come back here as the price, service and food was so tasty. In Australia you would easily pay $150+ for this quality french cuisine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food - stylish yet homely”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

This was the best meal we had in Paris - great change from the "hamburger/croque Monsieur/ steak frites" at most places.
Delicious food, try it out

Helpful?
Thank Dorsia_reservation
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad service”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Went to the place and ordered a starter and main course with a glass of red wine. The starter a carpaccio was fantastic, with a fresh baguette and full red wine. Then the lamb on a bed of vegetables and rosemary sauce. The lamb was so bad and raw that it was only possible to eat 2-3 small pieces, even the knife could not cut the meat. This was a really cheap piece of meat. So I pointed out that this was really bad.

The waitress did not even bother to make an excuse. She just said, do you still want your friends dessert? And we said yes and thought at least they were going to replace the bad main course with at least 2 desserts. But NO! When we went down to pay we still had to pay the full price even though she saw that almost all of the meat was still on the plate.

She started instead to defend her self and said that I should not have touched the meat, then she would be able to replace us. But how do you know something is bad if you don't taste it.

I told her that the meat was really bad.

Then the waitress told us -Leave and never come back again!!!

Talk about bad customer services. And don't worry we will never come back to someone that treat your customers like this.

We would have given this a higher rate if not for the incident with the meat and the waitress arrogance. Now we would like to give this restaurant 0 stars, but I guess it's not possible.

Paris have so many great restaurants so if possible try to avoid this rock bottom place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Vertbois also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing