We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
Ranked #377 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great place for a short trip”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ideal location and close to two Metro stops. Metro is cheap and reliable, we bought carnet books which works out cheaper. The hotel is bright and spacious with lovely staff. The bar area is simply an extension of the reception and the bar staff seem to disappear quite often. As with all Holiday Inn Express breakfast is included which is basic scrambled egg, sausage, bread, meat, cheese and pastries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear dhall7,

The Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de La Villette team would like to thank you for your comment. What a great pleasure to read your comment about your stay with us!

Be sure your thoughtful words have been shared with all the staff.

The hotel is indeed surrounded by various metro lines, bus stops to reach the most famous areas in Paris in few minutes.

Hope we will see you again in our wonderful city !

Kind regards,
Philippe FERRAND
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    500
    135
    26
    26
See reviews for
383
345
43
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed the week in this hotel, its a short walk from the metro station on the quiet canal. It also happens to be situated near a number of bars which can create some noise on game nights. The hotel has comfortable beds, space to work and a small sitting area. Had some trouble with service taking no responsibility with issues I've reported. I've asked for a wake up call more than once only to have no call in the morning. Room wasn't cleaned unless asked, and when I asked to get a "Please clean room" sign like the other rooms have, was brushed off and told they'd make a note for cleaning the next day. The A/C did not work in the room and after explaining that I've tried all their suggestions, simply said "wait 20 min it should work".

Breakfast is included but part of it really isn't very palatable. The eggs are reconstituted, sausages are dripping in grease, cheese is dry and coffee machine makes it too watery. The saving grace of breakfast are the croissant, baguette, and the pain chocolat.

Its not exceptional but I've been to much worse places. Best chosen for its location more than anything else, its good for a few days but I wouldn't be staying here long term.

Room Tip: If you can get one, the top floor (6th) has balconies that are great to relax on. Avoid room 601 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Alex C,

First of all thank you for taking time to write your review. It is a pleasure to know that you felt welcomed. we apologize for the incovenient had in the room and for the beakfast. We will forward your remark to the Housekeeping Manager and the F&B service, to take into consideration for future improvements.

The Holiday Inn Expres Paris-Canal de la Villette will be very glad to welcome you for your next visit in Paris.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe FERRAND
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the long weekend at the beginning of May,on arrival check in was straightforward,rooms were a good size,bathrooms lovely,plentiful towels and spotless with free wifi which worked splendidly much to our surprise!
Admittedly you cannot walk to any of the main sites from here but the metro is a 5 min walk- there are a couple of restaurants nearby and next door where the food was good.
The hotel breakfast was ample with scambled eggs and usual continental fare, the interior of this hotel is minimal and modern-for a weekend hotel this one is pretty good it even has a little bar area inside/outside which overlooks the canal quite relaxing. If your looking for well priced accomadation and not a hovel this is the place.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a wrap around balcony with seating space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear anaher5,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our accommodations and amenities were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

just back from this hotel few days ago and overall would say this was a very nice place to stay , a 5 min walk to the metro( which seems to go to every place of interest) the hotel was spotless had a great buffet breakfast and friendly staff , dined out at local restaurants . hostel that's part of same building was not a problem in fact had a number of well travelled young people having fun. would stay here again .

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulacb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Paulacb_12,

We are very glad to read your feedback. Thank you for your kind words. We always try to do our best and to upgrade our service day by day as every single detail makes the difference.

Thank you again for sharing with us your experience and we all hope to see you again in our establishment.

Kind regards,

Philippe FERRAND
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here in March for the final six nations weekend between France v Ireland. Hotel staff and room was spotless. Breakfast buffet had a great selection too. Metro was only a 5 minute walk and public transport was free for that weekend due to the pollution levels in Paris. Also a little bonus got to meet keith wood and John Inverdale who were staying in our hotel. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isrross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear isrross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your stay at the Holiday inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette.

We are pleased to hear that everything went in the best conditions. It is with pleasure that we welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.

Sincerely,

Leslie Elie
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was at this great hotel the first week of April. We hesitated staying in a chain hotel while in Paris (rather than a more 'local' hotel) especially one that appeared to be out of the way, but our decision to book there was perfect. The hotel is well situated along the waterfront and very reasonably priced. Our room was large, the Queen bed comfortable and the modern bathroom so clean we thought the hotel was brand new (it was renovated in 2006). The buffet breakfast was also good and the coffee memorable. Every staff member was warm and helpful, especially Carine. The neighbourhood is interesting and we especially loved the Parc de la Butte Chaumon (a must!). We also enjoyed la Criée restaurant by the water and the area bars where locals readily interacted with us and gave us helpful tips (ie. to visit la Butte de Cailles area near la Place d'Italie and Bercy Village.) The Riquet metro stop is a short walk from the hotel and only 10 quick stops away from downtown. We reached major metro destinations in under 20 minutes from our hotel door. The hotel was also easy to reach from CdG airport (RER to Gare du Nord; Metro to Laumière station; a 10 minute walk to our hotel)... the recommended route by Google. You can hear people 'party' at night at the patio bar downstairs, but the window, once closed, kept the noise to a bare minimum. Otherwise, it was nice to have an open window and a great view. Our stay at this hotel greatly enhanced our stay in Paris. We highly recommend it! We would stay there again 'en criant lapin' (in a flash).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the canal side (but I think any room would have a pretty view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sylvie L.,

The Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de La Villette team would like to thank you for this posting on Tripadvisor. What a great pleasure to read your comment about your stay with us. Be sure that your thoughtful words have been shared with all the staff.

Our hotel is indeed surrounded by various metro lines, bus stops to reach the most famous area in Paris in few minutes.

We also thank you for all the advice you give they can be beneficial for the next customers. Hope we will see you again in our wonderful city!

Leslie Elie
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located right next to the scenic canal, a bit out of the way from tourist spots but it's close enough to the metro station (Ricquet; about 5 - 10 minutes walk) and you can get to city centre within 20 - 30 minutes.

Our room was rather small and does not come with a nice view but it's decent enough for the price we paid - clean room with hot breakfast!. By the way, breakfast room is too small for the hotel hence it's always busy. Be early for breakfast so you don't have to wait too long for a table. Breakfast spread is quite limited but at least there's hot food. We love the croissants!

Receptionists are friendly + helpful and they speak good English. Safe deposit box available at Front Desk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwcyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear mwcyen,

Thank you for your message regarding your stay in our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed most of your stay, but we are sorry to hear that not all our amenities were up to your standards. Our teams work hard to ensure guests are happy with their stay and during breakfast, we work quickly to ensure everyone is seated in order to not wait in line so long.

Our rooms are small for standards in other countries, but when compared with rooms in Paris, they are actually very spacious.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to send us a message directly the next time you may visit!

Kind Regards,
Daryl Cruz
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Ibis Styles Paris Massena Olympiades
La Villette
Ibis Paris La Villette Cite des Sciences 19eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette

Property: Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
Address: 68 Quai De La Seine | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Family Hotel in Paris
#468 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil waterside setting of the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette hotel,just 10 minutes by metro from the heart of the city.A striking wood-clad eco-hotel, Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is proud of its green credentials, solar roof panel & recycling programme. At 23 sq mt, the Guest rooms give you plenty of space to stretch out & relax.The hotel is 30 minutes by train from Charles de Gaulle Airport.And with Riquet metro station just 2 minutes away,it's easy to explore central Paris which is only a 10 minute metro ride from your peaceful waterfront base.Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is next to Parc de la Villette,a futuristic activity park with gleaming metal sculptures in flower-filled gardens.Relax on the grass listening to live music,or keep the kids entertained with a visit to the Science Museum & screenings of 3D movies.Ask our friendly 24-hr Front Desk staff to suggest their favourite local attractions.Choose the largest of our 7 meeting rooms,with impressive views of the Canal, to host up to 150 delegates. All of our flexible meeting spaces are equipped with wireless Internet. Let us know if you'd like coffee breaks,printing or copying arranged.Unwind with a chilled glass of wine or champagne on the sunny terrace of Bar 68.Then head out for dinner in a typical Parisian brasserie.Our staff are happy to help with recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette Hotel Paris
Holiday Inn Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing