We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views of canal, quiet area, close to good restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
Ranked #370 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely views of canal, quiet area, close to good restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved the location of this hotel, service was excellent and the nearby restaurants were excellent. Science museum nearby recommended for all ages. Take a canal trip from here to central Paris enjoyable and informative. We had a disabled room which had lots of space and an excellent shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith_annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Judith_annw,
We all would like to thank you for this nice review regarding your last stay in our hotel.
Your 5 stars comment is really important to us, in order to improve our services.
See you very soon at the holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette!
Kindest regard,
Philippe FERRAND
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    487
    134
    25
    25
See reviews for
371
335
43
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Paris.

Hotel is nice and modern, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is good for getting the metro into central Paris, which was what we wanted.

The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and had a good shower. Room could do with a proper ceiling light, as the wall lights weren't very bright.

Breakfast was good, if you like the same thing every day, but could get busy later on.

We booked this hotel as it had parking - the car park was secure and underground with spacious bays, but the ramps in and out are steep and quite tight if you have a large car. Cost 18 Euros per day.

Area was very nice and had a few nice restaurants and bars with good food. Nice to be by the waterfront and clearly the thing to do is have a picnic on the banks. Good ambience and felt really safe walking around the area. There is currently a lot of summer activities by the side of the canal and these have security in the evenings, but never a sniff of any trouble.

Only downside was the noise. We were on the first floor and the noise at night from a bar/nightclub under the hotel was really quite loud. My wife was up feeding our baby and it kept her awake and went on until gone 4am most nights. In fact, she resorted to using ear plugs and the little one ended up sleeping in with us or she wouldn't settle. I got up early on the Sunday morning and it was still going at 6:30am. Later found out that we shouldn't have been allocated a room on that floor with the baby.

If it wasn't for the noise, I'd have given it 5/5

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor - the noise from the bar/nightclub goes on until gone 4am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuestAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear GuestAnonymous,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean modern nice hotel. Short walk to Riquet Metro station and Paris' excellent subway system.
Located on a canal, maybe goes to Seine River ?? Good service, nice hot breakfast, nice neighborhood with some local bar/cafes off the tourist track, Also a more touristy restaurant right next to hotel was fun.

Room Tip: Had a nice view of the canal. Room 321 I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moderate_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Moderate_man,
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments, shared with all staff are a real encouragement. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location, the rooms and our staff's efficiency was to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
Philippe FERRAND
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Holiday inn Paris with family & kids. The rooms were spacious and fresh . Great & helpful service by the staff. The breakfast is standard and gets boring after 2 days ! The metro station Ricquet is a 7 min walk and connects to Paris downtown .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viswakumar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Front Desk Clerk at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, including your room experience, the view over the canal and our services provided.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerly,
Leslie Elie
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here with my mom in mid-April. The staff was welcoming and courteous. The room was comfortable. Free breakfast is definitely a plus! The Riquet metro station on the 7 line is a few minutes' walk away; Stalingrad is a little farther away. This line brought us straight to Opera and the Louvre. We also had a lovely view of the canal from our room. There are a number of restaurants in the same building as the hotel, as well as a little walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank petrariv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this kind comment about your stay with us.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great experience at the hotel Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette. Be sure that we will share your comment with our team !

We are sure that your detailed review will be helpful for other travelers. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Leslie Elie
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday inn Quai de la Seine the night before, of & after Bastille Day. Staff very pleasant & helpful, one female staff member grumpy (long hair shaved on one side)! room was clean with a window over the canal, very spacious with the 3 of us. breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from, so filled up for the day !
Expected a party atmosphere & was delighted to go to the firemans ball (public party 13th July) directly across the street,noisy but we didn't mind.
A/C & free wifi in the room.
Very close to the metro,Ricquets, just around the corner.
Very impressed with the price we got online, nonrefundable 400€ for 2 adults &1 teenager for 3 nights B&B.
The canal is lovely, family & couples all walking along the quays day & night, lots of medium priced bars & restaurants nearby too.
We will use & recommend this hotel for anyone going to Paris.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank loveGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your feedback and for these nice specifics recommendations about our location! You were here during the Bastille day's ceremony and you show to our readers that we have a very dynamic and safe area.
All our apologies for the problem your encountered with one of our staff at the bar ; our food and beverage manager toke measures for not to happen again!
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette.
Kind regards,
Philippe FERRAND
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good rooms, neat and clean, good staff and good service. Helpful staff and very informative. good choice of restaurants and auper markets around. Metro Riquet is a 5 minute walk away. Besides the canal and a good view from the hotel room. Decent breakfast options... all in all very impressive

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear SinSur,

We thank you for this kind comment about your stay at the the hotel Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the service, your room, the hotel location and the views!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Leslie Elie
Guest Relations Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Ibis Styles Paris Massena Olympiades
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#513 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#25 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette

Property: Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette
Address: 68 Quai De La Seine | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Family Hotel in Paris
#469 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil waterside setting of the Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette hotel,just 10 minutes by metro from the heart of the city.A striking wood-clad eco-hotel, Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is proud of its green credentials, solar roof panel & recycling programme. At 23 sq mt, the Guest rooms give you plenty of space to stretch out & relax.The hotel is 30 minutes by train from Charles de Gaulle Airport.And with Riquet metro station just 2 minutes away,it's easy to explore central Paris which is only a 10 minute metro ride from your peaceful waterfront base.Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette is next to Parc de la Villette,a futuristic activity park with gleaming metal sculptures in flower-filled gardens.Relax on the grass listening to live music,or keep the kids entertained with a visit to the Science Museum & screenings of 3D movies.Ask our friendly 24-hr Front Desk staff to suggest their favourite local attractions.Choose the largest of our 7 meeting rooms,with impressive views of the Canal, to host up to 150 delegates. All of our flexible meeting spaces are equipped with wireless Internet. Let us know if you'd like coffee breaks,printing or copying arranged.Unwind with a chilled glass of wine or champagne on the sunny terrace of Bar 68.Then head out for dinner in a typical Parisian brasserie.Our staff are happy to help with recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal de la Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette Hotel Paris
Holiday Inn Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing