We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant!”
Review of Bateau le Calife

Bateau le Calife
Ranked #9 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
stuttgart
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Simply pleasant – was the trip with „Le Calife“ along the Seine. We sat „Au Bois Exotique“, one of the „salons“ of the ship with a great view on the most important sights of Paris such as Notre Dame, Gare D’Orsay, Le Louvre, les Tuileries, etc. The staff was extremely friendly and very efficient, the food was really good and the timing is perfect. As soon as the ship arrives alongside the Eiffel Tower, the lights of the Tower begin to sparkle and the ship turns around to go back to harbor. It was a wonderful “cruise” and a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondqueen71686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,527
    403
    51
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening despite the rain!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We met up with some relatives, over from Australia on holiday, for dinner on this lovely boat. We had the most wonderful evening. The staff were all so pleasant and the food was fantastic, don't know how they manage to prepare and cook to such a high standard on a boat. Greeted with a glass of champagne and shown to our table, we were able to relax and select our dinner. We all opted for the menu Grand Palais. Prawns, delicious, fillet steak cooked to perfection. We had 2 very good bottles of red wine. As previous reviewers have mentioned, highlight of trip was going past the Eiffel Tower as the lights started to twinkle, beautiful. I would not hesitate to book this trip, it is something we will never forget.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisychain_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent night out for couples of any age - just do it”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Excellent staff, super efficient service, great food - including decent vegetarian options. Very good wine list. The ambience on the boat is magical and exciting as the daylight changes to night. The ride is very smooth and I was impressed that there is a dedicated safety officer who was highly vigilant - though he told me there has never been an incident. It does not matter which table you have, the all round and overhead views through the large windows are fantastic. If you want clear photos without windows there is a small open deck area (also handy for smokers!). I fully recommend this to any couples visiting Paris. It really is a delightful experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern england
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“magical dinner cruise”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a wonderful evening , cruising down the seine eating good food, drinking good wine , with the best view on the river.
This dinner is a must do if your wallet can afford it , cost 190e including a tip for a 4 course meal with a bottle of nice wine, and a beer each to start ( 2 people ),money well spent , highlight being when we arrived at the Eiffel Tower just as the light show started , noticed all the other dinner cruise boats were nowhere to be seen , so this was a planned stop to catch the light show , making this trip even more special.
Nice smooth boat ride , we had seats on the upper deck , but the other deck's view was almost the same.
Waiters were good and cheerful as well, making the whole experience memorable.
Would definitely do again if we return to Paris in the future

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruinSouthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family reunion”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

6 family members met up for the first time in many years on a dinner cruise. The ambience was wonderful with great food, lovely wines and good service. Being able to see many of the Paris attractions floodlit and of couse the Eiffel Tower alight and flashing as we arrived was a memorable experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Bateau le Calife also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bateau le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing