We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience”

La Petite Hostellerie
Ranked #12,653 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a great experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

found this by accident and had very good evening, excelent value 16 eur,, , for 3 courses, confit of duck,, really good,, with some outstanding cote de rhone,,,,friendly slow service,,nice atmosphere,,, would certainly return, a contrast to some better known places near by,,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrphyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    179
    95
    55
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical tourist trap avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

just look at the title for a summary.
advertised on 16-euro menu wild boar stew was unavaialble - but that became clear only AFTER
we ordered appetizers and wine ( wine was awful )
so i ordered meat a la burgundy, it was full of tendons and no trace of burgundy wine sauce.
dessert was a big blob of frozen apples re-heated in a microwave.
when i was ready to pay i was informed that, I quote: "credit card machine is kaput today"!
so you are forced to pay 55 euro cash for a substandard food. luckily we had just enough on us
never again. DO NOT GO THERE

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russo_turist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better than some reviews suggest”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Okay, here I go again coming to the defense of La Petite Hostellerie. This place has been a favorite stop of ours in Paris for years and we've never been disappointed. To call it a "typical tourist trap" is unfair; it is very well priced, the food is very good and it's patrons are mostly locals. We had a three-course lunch (I had an excellent cheese tray for dessert) that was fresh and well prepared. For two of it came to under €40.00 including a bottle of Bordeaux. Service was very friendly as was the owner who has been operating this restaurant for 19 years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheFlickGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A prime example of the decline of Paris restaurants”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a pretty place in the Latin Quarter but the food is faux French cooking--like a lot of the restaurants around here. Thin, fairly tasteless vegetable soup; bad imitation coq au vin; and gross, gel-like creme brulee. Paris food used to be very reliable. Not anymore. Overall a disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kapiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

it was a bit more pricey than some of the other restaurants in the quarter but the only one that had what we wanted that particular day.

we had a set menu and it was a lot of food for the money so very pleased and very full!

the restaurant was run by a father son team and they were just delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Hostellerie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Petite Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing