We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bones with goat is called Chicken in France”

La Petite Hostellerie
Ranked #12,653 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Schoonhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Bones with goat is called Chicken in France”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When ordering Chicken in wine in this place. There is a pretty big chance of getting bones with goat's meat in a dark brown sauce. When asking about the meat they will confirm it is chicken. The soup will be served right from the microwave and might be still cold for one of your friends.
The fresh fruit salad comes from the fridge and is approximately 3 to 5 days old.
In case you are planning on going to the toilet here, bring your own toilet paper since that's not available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sibbe1e1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    179
    95
    55
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RAT AU VIN”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lured in by the stunning font displayed on the menu outside (and the promise of a 10-euro dinner including wine), my companion and I ventured into this outwardly-attractive establishment hoping for shelter from the rain and a half-decent feed.

We squeezed our average forms into tiny chairs around a cold, cramped table by the door, and felt a slight sense of unease descend upon us. Tables and chandeliers alike looked as though they were made of plastic, whilst Rihanna's dulcet tones blared out of speakers in every corner.

But all of this is immaterial compared to the utter travesty of the food with which we were presented. Quite seriously, I would not feed it to a dog I hated; it was THE WORST FOOD WE HAVE EVER EATEN, (and we are not just English but were also raised on a diet of chewy liver and onions, microwaved baked beans, and large quantities of congealed salty porridge). We had tentatively ordered 'coq au vin'; the odd matter on our plates resembled (in looks, taste, and texture) either rat or, at best, feral street pigeon. These hunks of gristle and bone and misery were drenched in a viscous brown liquid that looked like sewerage and tasted like paint, possibly with a few gravy granules crumbled into it. We choked back the blanched, dough-like potatoes, abandoned the so-called meat after attempting a couple of mouthfuls, and washed the whole ordeal down with wine that tasted like wee-wee.

We decided not to complain as we felt it was inevitable that this godforsaken place would soon be shut down, only to find that on TripAdvisor it has been awarded an average of THREE Green Blobs! Are all the other reviewers ex-convicts?? Please avoid this dive at all costs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a great experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

found this by accident and had very good evening, excelent value 16 eur,, , for 3 courses, confit of duck,, really good,, with some outstanding cote de rhone,,,,friendly slow service,,nice atmosphere,,, would certainly return, a contrast to some better known places near by,,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrphyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical tourist trap avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

just look at the title for a summary.
advertised on 16-euro menu wild boar stew was unavaialble - but that became clear only AFTER
we ordered appetizers and wine ( wine was awful )
so i ordered meat a la burgundy, it was full of tendons and no trace of burgundy wine sauce.
dessert was a big blob of frozen apples re-heated in a microwave.
when i was ready to pay i was informed that, I quote: "credit card machine is kaput today"!
so you are forced to pay 55 euro cash for a substandard food. luckily we had just enough on us
never again. DO NOT GO THERE

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russo_turist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better than some reviews suggest”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Okay, here I go again coming to the defense of La Petite Hostellerie. This place has been a favorite stop of ours in Paris for years and we've never been disappointed. To call it a "typical tourist trap" is unfair; it is very well priced, the food is very good and it's patrons are mostly locals. We had a three-course lunch (I had an excellent cheese tray for dessert) that was fresh and well prepared. For two of it came to under €40.00 including a bottle of Bordeaux. Service was very friendly as was the owner who has been operating this restaurant for 19 years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheFlickGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Hostellerie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Petite Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing