We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always an exquisite evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market

Market
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,447 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$32 - US$86
Cuisines: French, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Champs-Elysees
Description: Market is a popular restaurant with a French-Asian cuisine Located on Avenue Matignon, close to the Champs-Elysees, Market was decorated by Christian Liaigre, with simple materials such as marble, wood and leather. Chef Jean-Georges delivers us inventive dishes using fresh ingredients from the market and original combinations of spices and seasoning.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
620 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Always an exquisite evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk in, you feel the hip, get understated vibe of this modern, elegant venue. We started with the foie gras prepared with capers and berries.... The calamari was cooked perfectly and served with a wonderful sauce. The sirloin was served over mashed potatoes surrounded by a wonderful Asian influenced sauce. My wife had skate encrusted with mustard and capers....all fantastic. Service with our waitress Nora could not have been better....ask for her and a table by the window.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    182
    82
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Stealing Customer Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went to Market several times and loved the place ... Until unprofessional Valet doubled parked my car, while I paid him €10. A few weeks later, got a ticket in the mail for €35. On my next trip to Paris went to restaurant to complain and while they told me they would take care of it, they actually did not pay the ticket and got my fine jacked up to €75. Manager on Duty, Mr. Cibietta, did not follow-up with me as expected to re-credit my Amex. A Valet parking at €85 is stealing customer money !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overcharged”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I had dinner here in February 2014.

The restaurant is in a good, central location…just off of the Champs Elysees.

As others have stated previously, it is very much a "business" type restaurant. There were several business meeting occurring as we were enjoying our dinner. Overall atmosphere is okay.

The wait staff are courteous and speak English, which is a bonus.

Portion sizes were generous, food was decent. I had the sea scallops carpaccio as an appetizer (which didn't impress) and the slow-baked salmon for an entree. My husband had the angus burger and fries.

The food is rather overpriced…and in fact, we ordered a bottle of wine which is stated to be 38 euros on the menu, but when our bill came, we were charged 45 euros.

It is unlikely that I would visit this restaurant again, nor would I recommend it to friends travelling to Paris.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ceilidhsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good menu and slick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The restaurant is obviously geared to business people and the food is fresh and simple. The ambience was slightly lacking and the service was brisk, if not brusque. Rather dull contemporary interior - all very high quality - but dull!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StratfordonAvonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excelent location , good food adeqate service .

Often go for lunch in Paris enjoy it for a light lunch and in the summer the terrace is a joy .

Not amazing but fun simple good .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing