We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all been said before - great location, but a bit like a clean rabbit hutch!”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Its all been said before - great location, but a bit like a clean rabbit hutch!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

If location is most important its great. Easy walk to the main street with restaurants etc and the market - 3 days a week including Friday is unbelievable. The staff in the hotel are friendly enough but I went up to the 3rd floor and my room had a great view of the ventilation shaft. The bathroom was decent and clean and the best comfortable, however. But all crammed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Madam, Sir,

First of all, we we would like to thank you for your comment.

We can assure you that every room has eitheir a view on the avenue de Paris or a view on the inside patio.
The hotel has been entirely renovated during the 5 past years.
The rooms and bathrooms are on an averagesize considering the two stars hotel rate.

Have a good trip in france.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    154
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
94
117
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
studionn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We couldn't find a hotel in Paris (in our price range) and expanded our search to Versailles. We stayed at the Hotel des Roys. It is a great location, right down the avenue from the palace, around the corner from the train station, and situated within walking distance to many fine restaurants. The hotel desk manager was so helpful, making sure we were parked legally and even renewed our parking voucher while we were in Paris. The room was clean and quiet, just the right size and the bathroom was brand new with beautiful new dark blue tile. We really enjoyed taking the train to Paris and would stay in this Versailles hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank studionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the palace and the train station. It is on the main street so could have street noise, but our room was on the back, and very comfortable and clean. The staff was excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda-T0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Note much to say here. The hotel looks a bit worn out but clean enough. It's on the main road but the room we had was at the back so was quiet enough. It's located only 2 minute walk from the palace so very conveniet. Staff are very friendly. Worth a stay for one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Gérant at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour votre avis.
L'hôtel est entièrement rénové mais volontairement décoré en partie dans le style "Versailles".
Nous avons aussi des chambres très modernes comme l'on peut le voir sur le site internet.
Lors de votre prochain passage nous serons ravis de vous en faire découvrir une.

Bon voyage et à bientôt.

La direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It all comes down to what you want....if you want luxury, don't go to des Roys. Despite it's name, it's not for the kings. It is clean and friendly though and the breakfast, albeit a bit pricey at 11€, was nice. The hotel is also just down the road from the palace, so you cannot fault the location.

We had two adjacent rooms, one of which was under headline "new" and hence twice the price. It was newer than the other one, but not exactly luxurious. In fact, the room was a bit confusing: it had Villeroy & Boch bathroom suite, so not exactly cheap, but the rest of the decor didn't seem to follow the same standard.

Our rooms were downstairs, with windows and glass door facing to the inner courtyard, so we felt a little but exposed and could hear whenever someone went to one of the other rooms, but luckily most people seemed to go to bed at similar time with us, so it didn't become an issue.

We only stayed for one night on the way to the south, so a nice clean bed with good breakfast was all we needed. Had we planned our trip slightly differently (our children didn't fancy going to the palace, after all, but wanted to head for the next stop - camping!), we would probably have stayed something less central and less expensive.

The hotel has no dedicated parking, but there is a lot of parking on the Avenue de Paris and it is free in the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_w_kids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Friendly staff, but the rooms are the size of a walk in closet, bathroom and toilet areas separate and even smaller. We could not get the wireless internet to work for more than 5 minutes at a time. Comfortable bed, though. May be fine to use as a base to explore, as long as you don't plan to spend too much time in the room. Just not a business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appletonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel and found it to be very comfortable. It had a nice big shower and the bed was comfortable. It is about 1/2 km from the Palace of Versailles so you can easily walk there. It has an elevator. It says on Trip Advisor that the hotel has free parking. This is only true in August. There is parking on the street but one has to pay during the other months. Lucky for us we were there in August!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
842 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Property: A l'Hotel des Roys
Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing