We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location, small single rooms”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at A l'hotel des Roys during a conference at the nearby HEC. I was greeted by a very friendly staff member, who let me check in and have my room even though it was only 11am. The hotel is clean and has a comfortable little lounge in which to read. I had a single room, which was as small as other reviewers had warned. It was not a room I wanted to spend too much time in but that was fine as I was gone all day each day I was there. Very clean, great wi-fi connection, and literally just down the street from the Chateau de Versailles (which I did not, unfortunately, get to visit). I would recommend this to single travelers who plan to use it only as a place to sleep (I did not have breakfast at the hotel; rather I chose to buy coffee and a croissant at a little place around the corner). I cannot say anything about how couples or families might find it as I did not see any other rooms. Each of the three or four staff members I met was very friendly and that really made a good impression.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissSarah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hello, it's too bad that you couldn't visit the Palace and it's with great pleasure that we will welcome you again on your next trip to fulfill that wish. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for A l'Hotel des Roys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location, easy walking distance from the train station and the Chateau. Went for the breakfast which was good plenty to chose from, served by a really lovely member of staff, the room was spotless and staff on desk very friendly and helpful. Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello, Thanks a lot for your comment, our desire to welcome you in the best conditions is fulfilled by your satisfaction. See you soon in Versailles. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

No more than the length of three saloon cars wide, the hotel managed to fit in everything you need for a visit to Versailles. The main selling point, of course, is its proximity to the palace and gardens - a 4 minute stroll - but it's also adjacent to the train line direct into Paris and thence to CDG airport, with only one change and the minimum of effort. Perfectly clean and with helpful, English-speaking management, only the breakfasts drew poor remarks - they're highly formulaic and expensive in British terms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your comment. We're making all the efforts we can to make your trip to Versailles as enjoyable as possible. We're sorry you thought the breakfast was formulaic, we offer a lot of different things to try and please all our clients from all over the world while maintaining a french "savoir-faire". Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for almost a week in late-August to attend a training program held nearby. Des Roys is not betraying all the positive comments in tripadvisor, and in fact, it even be exceeding them. Extremely helpful and friendly hotel staff (a real treasure in France!), clean rooms, good location on a bustling and safe Versailles avenue, and walking distance to RER... Leaves little else to desire for. And highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We surely hope the quality of our service is representative of our country's "savoir vivre". Anyway, we truly thank you for your appreciation of our work. Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A short walk from Versailles Rive Gauche station and virtually on the doorstep of the palace make this a great base. Allows you to get up and be early through the door for your Versailles visit, and not have far to go at the end of the day when you have walked for miles. Good old fashioned French decor, but clean, comfortable and friendly. Versailles is a lovely town with wide avenues and lots of restaurants. Very good continental breakfast - fresh orange juice machine! Teas and coffees served to your table. Probably worth more than two stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chez-manoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for such a pleasant comment. We are very happy to know that you think we deserve more than 2 stars. Hope to welcome you again very soon. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we had a gardern room on the ground floor. Its rated as 2 star and its better than that. The rooms are spotless (but can be small), the service excellent and the breakfast great. Hard to criticise. The situation to the Palace is a few minutes away. The parking is also free in the month of August. We found both the restaurants close by are a little expensive for what you get as its in the main avenue and there are better value ones just off the beaten track 5 mins away,however its very nice just to sit on the avenue and watch the world go by in the evening if you use the local ones.

Room Tip: The garden rooms we would try to get again as they are of reasonable size.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake272005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comment that makes us feel proud about our vision of service "à la française". Comme back anytime, we'll be there to welcome you. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a great place to stay, We stayed here for one night only and did not have breakfast. We arrived about 11am and our room was ready for us. The room was small but was fine. The en-suite was newly renovated and was spotless. We had an excellent nights sleep and the bed was very comfortable. It is a short walk from the railway station and to the Chateau. Would stay here again - good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello, Thank you for all these compliments. Rest assured of our efforts to always keep this quality of service! Your Sincerely. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#9 of 26 in Versailles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £73 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing