We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the "chateau de versailles" but that is about it!!”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked a double bed room, we called them at the time of the booking to make sure it is two rooms and they confirmed it was two. However when arriving we were surprised there is only one room booked for 6 people. The gentleman at the reception offered to try to look for another room but it would not be next to each others, which means it was useless as we needed them for children. I went upstairs to look at the room size and was forced to stay in one room all of us. Thank God it was one night only. Room is not the cleanest in the world ( we found papers under the bed. We needed a baby;s bed, the gentleman found us one but another lady there did not seem too happy to bring it to our room. At the end 6 of us jammed in a small room, poor ventilation,and not the cleanest. The only good thing about this Hotel was the gentleman at the reception who was very polite and helpful, he went out of his way to show me where are the shops around that could be open ( we arrived on Easter Sunday). Then even passed by one of the shops the next day to tell me they are open all day. Parking was good as it was holiday so it was free and there were lots of spaces around to park.I would not personally recommend it to families. However, I would go as a single person.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello, We are truly sorry about what happened here. There must have been a misunderstanding because we asked the receptionist and he said he understood that you wanted to stay with your children. We hope to welcome you again and to make it right to you. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a twin room via booking.com. Having been promised nearby parking none was immediately available. Upon arrival we were greeted by the concierge eating his lunch and in great need of a napkin. He managed to handover keys to a very gloomy double room containing the smallest double-bed I have seen. An alternative twin was offered. The room was small, dark and not very clean. We decided to find another hotel and informed the concierge of our decision. After our return home we were informed via booking.com of a one night charge for "no show". The rooms we saw were not fit for purpose, the concierge was unsavory and ultimately untruthful. The hotel should be avoided.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Sir, When you arrived we mistaken by gave you a room with a double bed. As soon as you askes us the receptionist accompanied you to your new room with twin beds and you said it was good for you.After a while you decided to leave without explaination and now you are giving us a bad review because we charged you the room. It seems that we can see the limits of the review system here...Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel was decorated in rather brash taste but the staff were really nice and helpful and it was economically priced. Breakfast was good. The room was pretty small and dingey but as we were out sightseeing most of the time, it didn't matter too much. There were no tea making facilities in the room. It was convenient for the Palace but if we came again we noticed the Ibis is nearer so would stay there. There was parking outside on the road and at the weekend was free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Our "colleague" won't offer you bigger rooms or a tea set in the room. But you can ask our receptionist for some 24/7! Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were traveling with our two teenage kids and stopped for one night in Versailles. The main selling points for me were proximity to Versailles and equally important, they have rooms that can accommodate a family of four; an extremely rare find in Europe. Obviously it was a bit cramped but the full sized bed was comfortable enough, and the kids were fine with the bunk beds. I wouldn't say that the decor was anything to write home about, but the staff was very helpful and it suited our needs just fine.

One suggestion; if you're going to Versailles, when you walk out of the hotel towards the Palace, stop in the Office of Tourism on the left side of the street. You can't miss it. Buy your tickets there rather than standing in line at Versailles. If you're staying for 2 or more days or heading to Paris afterwards, you can also buy Museum Passes there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Andrew_and_Kates_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello, Our family rooms come in very handly when you travel with kids. The decoration is traditional Versailles but we tried to mix different styles for those who prefer it more modern. Going to the Tourism Office is indeed a good move since they give a lot of informations and good advices. Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Please someone who is empowered, change the map for this hotel. It is currently showing to be in a town about 30 miles to the South East of Versailles.
Everyone has said it all- great value, great staff.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank CarrieJ808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review and for noticing this geographical mistake. Thanks to you we've asked Tripadvisor to rectify it. Bruno ROSÉ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We selected this hotel purely on its location as we were driving from the UK and wanted a full day at the Palace and hassle free journey into Paris on the train, preferring to spend the money saved on the accommodation on dining out in local restaurants . On that front it is a perfect choice and with parking on the street at reasonable cost close by it fits the bill. It is rated 2 stars and personally I think that is about right, our room although perfectly clean was 'snug' and not somewhere you would want to return to and relax in, but there was a sitting area downstairs with free access to the internet. The en-suite shower room was shoehorned in, but served its practical purpose OK. The people who manned the front desk were always friendly and helpful. I can see why it is rated number 1 in the tripadvisor ratings for its location, but if you really want a grand hotel to match the the style of the palace look elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CotswoldsHappyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Simple maybe but with all the warmth of the conviviality and a good value for money... Happy New Year! Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Versailles this past weekend, and booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Like most of the other reviewers here, we found this hotel to be a great deal. The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable and suited us just fine. Our room was always made up every morning with fresh linens, which I definitely noticed and appreciated. Also, the water in the bathroom got hot very quickly, almost instantly, which made me a happy camper since that is often not the case in Europe. The location is impossible to ignore, because it is fabulous: walking distance to some great food options, the RER line C heading into Paris, and, of course, to the Château de Versailles. My boyfriend and I loved being able to get around so easily, as we love meandering on our vacations and exploring the cities we are staying in.

I was very satisfied with our stay here, and I would recommend this hotel as a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tfrey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

You made the right choice and your remarks on the quality of our service, even the non-obvious ones like the immediate hot water, prove that our efforts to welcome you in the best conditions are not vain. Happy New Year! Bruno ROSÉ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
525 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#12 of 26 in Versailles
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £70 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing