We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of making a reservation here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beware of making a reservation here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I made a reservation with this hotel in November, 2013 which I cancelled by phone with their reservation desk. I was told the matter was taken care of by Jakub Kajtmano, with whom I had been corresponding via email and phone. I told him we had found other accommodations.
On the date of our scheduled visit - July 18, 2014, I received an email from the hotel stating they were charging me $498.00 for an uncanceled reservation. I emailed them immediately and my husband and I went by the hotel to inform them that the reservation had been cancelled - in November, 2013. Now I must take the time to go through the dispute process with my credit card company. Be wary of making a reservation here. We stayed at a bed and breakfast down the road from here - White-Palaccio L'Orangerie, which I highly recommend, by the way.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2travel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Madam, It is really sad that bad faith can overcome the situation. Why didn't you send an email to cancel this reservation since you handle them that greatly? Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    145
    46
    10
    8
See reviews for
90
112
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked as most people do to be able to visit Versailles Paris, prior to be here we were camping and therefore looking forward to a night in a hotel. What a disappointment, our rooms were tiny and dingy and one of them smelt of smoke, even though they were both non smoking rooms. They were clean enough but didn't look as if they had been decorated since the 1950's with vinyl floors and questionable taste! The double beds were tiny but comfortable enough and the rooms were clean enough but didn't feel clean perhaps because the had an air of being run down. We left a day early as we couldn't stand another night and although the staff were ok they didn't warm the cockles of my heart. To be honest this hotel was depressing and you weren't particularly made to feel at home. However if it is the cheapest in the area and you can't afford more it's fine for a quick stay, but don't expect to want to relax and read in your room. There is an ibis which is probably about the same price down the road and I think if I were to visit the area again I would choose to stay there it looked a lot more jolly and the rooms are more modern. I'd love to be nice about this hotel but unfortunately it just isn't up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
J guess you're talking about another hotel since the decoration has been remade entierely during the last 5 years and there is no vinyl at all anywhere. Besides we aren't the cheapest hotel in Versailles. J hope you'll come to see us... for real this time. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was small-ish but perfectly adequate and comfortable. The location is great, really close to the main train station and to the palace. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for three nights and I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting good value for money and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Probably the best value for money in Versailles. With convivialty. Sincerely yours. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The room was small, but very clean! We had a small window so that helped with the size. The palace was about 1/2 a mile away, which was awesome! We arrived at 9 am (we had been traveling all night from the USA) and couldn't check in until 2 pm. The gentleman at the desk was kind enough to let us check in by 10 am. We were cold, wet and tired! I'm so grateful for his kindness. The breakfast was just "okay." A little overpriced in my opinion, but everything is overpriced in the area. Haha! There is a food store down the street, so if you're looking to save money on breakfast, stop by the store. Overall, excellent stay! We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much and see you soon. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to it's location. If you are looking for a place to stay that is close to Versailles, you can't get much closer then this hotel. The gentlemen at the front desk was very efficient and helpful. We got to the hotel a little early and expected them to tell us that our room was not ready, but it was. We where able to clean up a bit before we headed down the street to Versailles. The location of the hotel from the train station is about 1/2 a mile and to Versailles about a block! So location is fantastic. You are only about .6 miles from the town center where you will find many lovely cafe and restaurants. The rooms are very small but clean. The bathroom shower was very nice...it was quite but you can hear a bit in the room next to you. We booked a room in the small courtyard. I am not sure about the breakfast as we decided to have breakfast the next morning in the cafe in Versailles. Check out was good, and they held our bags for us until we left the next afternoon. If you are only staying for the evening you really can not go wrong with this little gem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
The curent owner used to work in the jewelry business... This might be that. Best regards,
Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The position of the hotel is excellent, within sight of, and 10 minutes walk from, the Palace of Versailles. First appearances are deceptive, with a cramped and not very attractive entrance to the hotel. However, it is a lot better than it looks. Our bedroom was simple and small, but quite adequate, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. The gentlemen on Reception were pleasant and helpful. The biggest surprise, however, was the buffet breakfast, the best in terms of both choice and quality during our stay in France

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
The reception hall has been entirely redecorated recently in a traditional Versailles style. We're doing evrything so that the breakfast fits for everybody with good quantities and most of all good quality. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuaim da Gualin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A very nice and convenient hotel in Versailles.We stayed there for 5 nights,2nd week in June.Its only a 7 min walk from the Rive Gauche rail station and about 10 minutes walk from The Palace and Gardens of Versailles.The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very helpful.The room and bathroom was small.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a good 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacCraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello!! Close from everything, and with the smile. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Versailles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Property: A l'Hotel des Roys
Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing