We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-hyped, over- priced- under presented”

Chateau de Versailles
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.66*
and up
Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Palace, trianon palaces and the estate of marie-antoinette : open daily except mondays and certain public holidays. Gardens and park : open daily.Commented tours, independant visits, musical fontains shows, shows, bowboats, little train, bicycles, bookshop, shops, restaurants...
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over-hyped, over- priced- under presented”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

With not much time, we chose to see Marie Antoinette's palace, the Grand Trianon and grounds rather than the whole palace.. One walks 25 minutes each way or waits for a trolley to get there from the main entance (extra 7 euros). Grand Trianon was taken up with a fashion exhibit and all rooms were more museum-like than giving a look at life there at the time. Almost no information in fact. We all felt disappointed especially as compared to the chateaux we'd visited in the Loire Valley.
Grounds were beautiful.
Information Centre washrroms were acceptable but the public toilets were atrocious with women lining up in wet floors while "enjoying" view of the men standing at urinals in the mens'!
Ate in the dining room- excellent food and service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank J Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,540
    4,443
    1,800
    769
    579
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vast, wondrous, astounding....make sure you eat your Wheaties!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I am a fan of Marie Antoinette so this was a pilgrimage, not a diversion! Like others wrote before me, buy the Museum Pass, get there by RER from Paris, and arrive early! Make sure, ladies, that you go to the bathroom somewhere before you get there. The very first WC inside the courtyard only has 2 stalls! They are few and far between; mark them out on your map if you have a small bladder. Also, bring some napkins...you get my meaning?
Don't go to Mesdames Apts first, go straight to the main chambers if you don't want tour bus people shoving you around. Get an audio guide! We didn't and my French is not that great. But if you've read up (like me) then you will have no problems; however, you may never get close enough to the signage, there were that many people! We got there at 9am and it was exasperatingly crowded...little Japanese ladies kept elbowing me out of their way! Lol!
We ate these amazing waffles at the cafe, not like the soggy, bland cousins you'd find in the US. Add a Heineken and a café crème and you've got instant energy and a painkiller (alcohol) for your weary feet!
Above all, bring your imagination and a sense of humour. And a bottle of water as the French do not believe in public drinking fountains. Nary a one to be found, or maybe all of the "wow, look at this" blinded me? I'm a thrifty girl and I just filled it up in the WC; the tap water was not bad.
Do sally forth to the more intimate Grand Trianon, Petit Trianon and pastoral Hamlet. You will be tired but take the little train back to the main château. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank morezennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome and Overwhelming”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I think if I had a chance to do this again, I'd probably stay for two days. The gardens are so extensive and that's my special interest. Walking from the furthest part of the garden to the Chateau is about a 45 minute walk so it's huge. Also, it's good to know (I didn't find this in any guidebooks) there are several places to eat at the Chateau and in the gardens. I'd probably rent a bike next time although the bikes are limited to just a few paths.. it would still be worth it. I was really interested in seeing Marie Antoinette's petite trianon - loved the Sophia Coppola movie - and it was really interesting and, in alot of ways, more interesting to me than the chateau. The hall of mirrors is definitely a sight to see and to experience so I would strongly recommend you go in the chateau which brings me to the point of doing an overnight there to experience the whole thing. The train from paris was very simple and easy to get - about 1/2 hour ride and no big deal. Make sure you notice which train you took out since it can be a little confusing on the way back to Paris.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank flowersngardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“skip it”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

First off, make sure to buy the Museum Pass. It gets you into the basics of the castle without having to pay for entrance. Secondly, buy the 3, 4, or 5-day metro pass. This will get you out to Versailles (about 45 minutes-very packed train).

What they don't tell you is that your Museum pass doesn't get you into certain parts of the attraction...for example, we couldn't go into the courtyard, which led out to the rest of the grounds-unless we were willing to pay for another set of tickets. It doesn't allow you to skip any lines. The line to get in was about a 2-hour wait. The metro pass does not get you back to Paris. No one knew this b/c everyone was panicking and trying to get through the metro gates with invalid tickets. Everyone then had to get into line to purchase metro tickets to get back into Paris. This caused the lines/train to be way over-packed, and there's quite a wait before the train departs.

Other cons: There are large tourist groups that are led by guides carrying flags. These groups will push/shove you out of the way. You are herded through the castle like cattle, and just like cattle, most of the crowd is in need of a bath. This was the only part of Paris we wish we had skipped.

Pro: It's a pretty impressive castle...not at all like the types you see in the UK.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Must See !!!!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Well worth the bus trip outside of Paris, very beautiful. The area is a litle difficut to walk as it is made of stone, be sure to wear comfortable shoes and we would not recommend people with babies using strollers, hard to traverse. The grounds outside are very beautiful with many trees and flowers and ponds. This is a great piece of history.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jkindyDesMoines_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Versailles also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing