We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good but not perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very good hotel, a great place with a lot of personnel and very good restaurants.
Just one thing,... when we go to the room, a big smell of cold cigarette ! not very fun at all :( another thing... the price of the minibar (7€ for a coke 33cl :(( )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tophe75019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am really sorry that your stay has not been perfect and I regret the inconvenience you suffered, please accept our apologies.
I do hope that you will let us another chance to prove our merits coming back to our property.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    817
    384
    174
    98
See reviews for
650
1,556
84
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel was GREAT! It was elegant, beautiful and definitely gave you the feel as if you were royalty. Every staff member that was encountered was there to help you and for the most part spoke a good amount of english which was nice for us since we speak very little French. The bellman provided water bottles for us to take when we went walking through the gardens, there was a delicious pear and apple cocktail waiting for you upon arrival and it was just an amazing experience. Definitely check out the pool area, it was great and very relaxing! Was going to eat at theGordon Ramsey Restaurant until we saw the price of the plates (100+ Euros) so we decided to skip that one out. Not saying that the quality of the experience would not be worth it but at the time we weren't looking to drop that kind of money on our first night meal in Europe. Also, the wifi is free only in the public places of the hotel, you have to pay for it in your room...again, nothing major but just a heads up. Definitely a wonderful place to stay though and I would recommend it to any visitor coming to Versailles!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am really pleased that you had a wonderful experience staying with us and that you appreciated the service we offered you. I shared your comments with all our teams because it is a real reward for all of us. I thank you for recommending our hotel and do hope that you will have the chance to visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It was a beautiful hotel. However the paint on our balcony was 1/2 chipped off and a little run down for the prices they charged, and they wanted us to pay 25 Euro a night for the internet. We stayed at 8 other nice hotels in Europe and never had to pay for the internet. The Concierge was very helpful and the wait staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Great location but the hotel needs some renovations and upkeep done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmbgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I regret that you have been a little disappointed because of the painting of the balcony, we undertake regularly maintenance works in the hotel and took good notice of that.
Hoping you will not stay with this memory in mind and that you willvisit us again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stay at this hotel a number of times a year due to its ideal location. Normally no issues but last week I was there on the 10/7 and ended up with 18 bites from my room mates the mosquitoes. These things happen but the hotel knew about the issue and did nothing about it or warn me of the potential issue. They had the audacity to tell me that I should have told them about the problem they knew about. (Please note this happened at 4am and all I wanted to do was sleep). Not impressed!

Room Tip: Stay away from the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Trianon Palace.
Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had because of the mosquitoes. We try to do our best to avoid the discomfort caused by this issue and can assure you we will go on.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Staying a the Trianon is a little bit as staying in a little Versailles. It is next door to the Chateau and the service was great: the concierge answered very politely to our questions although we did not buy Versailles tickets there. We were able to enjoy an early check-in, just after arriving from Roissy, and we enjoy every moment we were there, walking in the Park, visiting the goats in the field next to the hotel. Price was quite reasonable for the location, rooms and service level.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AFV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am really pleased that you consider the Trianon Palace as the best place when visiting Versailles and that you enjoyed every moment you spent with us.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Selected this hotel as it is part of the Hilton Chain and i could use my HHonors rewards as a Diamond Member. Was upgraded to a great room from the start and had no issues with any staff on check in even though we do not really speak french. The room was large, well maintained and very clean. Bathroom was very spacious and the bath was quite large. The hotel facilities were very nice including the Bar in the lobby for drinks, the Pool area, the restaurants and the grounds outside. The Spa i though was a little overpriced for some treatments so we did not use this. Also the Pool was a little over chlorinated so we did not spend much time in here even though it was a very nice area. Breakfast was served in beautiful room and was one of the best breakfast buffets i have had in Paris and many other hotels (this was included as a Diamond member). It was a great location to explore the Palace next door. A simple walk out the back and you are in the gardens of the amazing palace. The Concierge was extremely helpful in organizing a Car for a reasonable rate to make sure we got to CDG airport on time for our international flight even during peak hour. Overall a must stay if you are visiting the area and you need 2 days here to get the best of the Hotel and the restaurants.

Room Tip: High floor for the views and make sure you stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice comments. We are pleased that you spent a lovely stay in a large and well maintained room and that you appreciated the hotel facilities, the helpness of our concierge and that you had one of the best breakfast.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Unfortunately we loved everything about this hotel except the concierge and I have to give the hotel 1 star. We were in the main hotel and the room was beautiful. We had a lovely dinner at La Veranda, the breakfast room and food was great etc. We even had a drink in the gallery (although at 18 euros for a glass of champagne, really it had better be nice no?)

Our experience was however tainted by the concierge who had the audacity to tell me that they do not sell tickets to Versailles. He gave me a lengthy song and dance about how they have to choose the tickets that the can carry at the concierge desk. I told him that was the most ridiculous thing I ever heard as the hotel is on the grounds of the Palace. He proceeded to act like he was doing me a big favor by drawing all over a map with a highlighter showing me where we could go stand in line for 2 hours to get tickets.

Approximately 2 hours later when we decided to head out to the Palace of Versailles, I told my husband that I was sure the concierge had lied to me and he should go ask the other person at the desk. My husband came out less than 5 minutes later with the tickets in his hand. The first concierge purposefully lied to me and sent us to waste 2 hours in line - I am sure he thought it was hilarious to mess with American tourists. However I did not find it hilarious and neither did my husband who is a Hilton Diamond Member as he stays at Hiltons regularly for business. It was really shameful to be treated so disrespectfully and with such clear malice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am pleased to see that you loved everything in the hotel but at the same time, I am sincerely surprised and very disappointed by the issue you mentioned which completely spoilt your stay.
I think there was a misunderstanding because it is not in our habits to be disrespectful with our guests and we regularly have compliments about the helpfulness of our concierges. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.
I do hope that you will not keep this memory in mind and let us another chance to prove our merits.
SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#11 of 26 in Versailles
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing