We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very comfortable, nice location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an expensive hotel, but it is extremely comfortable, the majority of the staff provided excellent service. I would stay again but only if it was a special offer, no way would I pay full rate for this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Trianon Palace for staying at Versailles and thank you for your nice comments. We are very proud to read that our staff provided an excellent service and that you would like to stay again.
Looking forward the pleasure of your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    807
    381
    172
    96
See reviews for
633
1,539
84
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glos UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

What a disappointment! We booked this as a 20th anniversary treat, expecting a real treat. Sadly, this was not to be.
Our reception was distinctly half-hearted. We were asked for a holding deposit of £100 per person per night, which is way higher than necessary, especially seen in the context of a decidedly average room. The bath tap failed to hold in water; a miserly collection of coffee/ tea provisions were provided. On our second day, we returned to our room at 3.30pm to find housekeeping hadn't cleaned. We were told it would be done within the hour but it hadn't been touched in that time. Reception were not very bothered at all. I'm afraid at the prices charged their snooty attitude really wrankled! If you charge the highest prices you should provide the highest level of service. I will not be recommending this hotel. On the plus side we found some fabulous restaurants in the town - it was much more satisfying spending our money outside of the hotel, under the circumstances.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay while in Versailles.
I am sincerely sorry to read that you have been disappointed by your stay with us and I apologize for the inconveniences you suffered. I shared all the points you mentioned with the concerned people in order to take the necessary steps. Regarding the deposit, in fact it is to cover all extra our guests may spend in our restaurants, bar and spa and this procedure is common in the hotels.
I regret you left with a bad memory and remain,
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is lovely, with views of the gardens, luxurious rooms, and quirky but nice bathrooms. We reserved two adjoining room for one night, in the main building. The convenience to Versailles was perfect, we were able to tour the Petit Trianon and Hamlet our first evening with a leisurely walk there and back, entering by the eastern gate. Entered directly through an eastern gate to tour the main palace the following morning at 9, ahead of the tour bus crowds. Problems arouse after check out the next day. We were expecting a pick up by a car service, and gathered in the lobby right by the concierge, on time. No car. After a wait, and then emails and calls, we heard the car was delayed due to a metro strike, and messages had been left with the concierge. We were literally 10 feet from his desk. Apparently too difficult to connect 4 guests with luggage and a delayed car? We could have enjoyed lunch before departure, instead of the prolonged wait. We were completely ignored by the bellman, as well. On the plus side, breakfast was very good, nice service, in a beautiful room. Loved the peaceful atmosphere of the room after an all night flight. Too bad the last hour of our experience there left us glad to leave, when it could have been a relaxed wait if just one person cared to do their job.

Room Tip: Main palace building and views of garden if possible - not sure what the other side of the hotel wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
I am pleased to read that you appreciated everything at Trianon Palace but I am really sorry that you left with a mixed feeling because of the last hour you spent waiting for your pick-up by a car service. I regret that our team did not care of you and I sincerely apologize for the lack of service you suffered.
Hoping that you will let us another chance to redeem ourselves in the next future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughters, sister and I stayed at the Trianon Palace Versailles at the end of June on the recommendation of our American Express travel agent. We were not helped by a bellman upon arrival, in fact the bellman on duty made a comment to whomever he was talking to about Americans! Although the main hotel appeared lovely, we were put in the adjacent building (I was told by my travel agent that we would have adjoining rooms in the main hotel.) The room that my daughters had was a smoking room, not appropriate for teenagers. We were not helped with our luggage, not shown around the hotel and not given our credits for meals that was part of the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts. At one point we were locked out of our room! In addition, the concierge was rude to my older daughter when she asked him to print our airline boarding passes and to order a car to the airport, isn't that his job?! Worst hotel that we stayed at during our travels in Europe. Take the train from Paris if you want to see Versailles!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cyndy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Once again we would like to thank you for your visit at Trianon Palace and to apologize for the inconveniences you had. We had the opportunity to get in touch directly with you and hope that you will let us another oportunity to redeem ourselves coming back to our property.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The Waldorf Versailles is amazing the concierge is fabulous they help you with every thing the staff is great they speak English extremely helpful and mindful of all of the details this is a must stay in Versailles especially if visiting the palace because of proximity it is walking distance a must do in Paris Versailles the Waldorf. The room is fabulous oversized bathroom Waterfall showers an extremely comfortable living quarters just a fabulous place. Had a Platinum Member I am able to enjoy complimentary drinks at the bar and complimentary drinks brought to my room by the General Manager which was very pleasant surprise.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice comments.
I am really pleased to read that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed your room and the fabulous concierge as well as our staff who is attentive to details.
I do hope that you will have the chance to come back, we will be pleased to welcome you back.
SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went for a walk with my mother in the park and decided to have lunch at the Trianon Palace and eat outside on the terrace to enjoy the beautiful view.
1. TERRACE - We could not get served outside as the terrace was not opened. In any case, the service did everything possible to remove this idea from our minds. The room was very hot and the windows not opened, despite being in the middle of July.
2. FOOD/PRICE - The lunch was good. Good, not better… despite the 60 euros paid for a starter+main or main+dessert. No originality, too much salt and tepid. I am still wondering where the "guimauve" of my dessert was? The service really show us their disapproval of the fact that we wanted to share the starter & dessert…
3. SERVICE - What a service ! The head waiter, a man, kept "making jokes", making fun of us once he left our table to make his colleagues laugh, leaving us feel uncomfortable and judged. When we left, he even dared telling us to come back next time "with a smile". How disrespectful!

As a conclusion, we expected much more from a 4 star hotel in terms of flexibility, welcome and respect of clients.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank thegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for coming with your mother in our property.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned and above all if our staff in our restaurant was disrespectfull, it absolutely does not match with the behavior our teams are used to have and I immediately take the necessary steps to correct this issue.
I regret very much the very disappointing service which has offered to you and which has not been up to our standards, once again please accept our apologies.
I would not like you remained on this bad memory and I hope that you will give us another chance to serve you,,be sure that we will do our best to redeem ourselves.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Trianon experience was very elegant. Beautiful grounds and location, but a bit out of the way. A car would almost be necessary for the walk into the city is challenging especially for older people. Taxis are available after a call and sometimes are expensive. All the amenities within the hotel are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank paulbossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grégoire S, General Manager at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles and thank you for your nice comments regarding our property.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.7 mi away
Pullman Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing