We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were robbed at this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

WE WERE ROBBED AT THIS HOTEL - I have waited 3 weeks to write this review foolishly hoping for some good news that never materialized. On Saturday June 16th 2012, we, along with another couple on the same floor, got robbed at Le Residence Du Berry Hotel, 14 Rue D Anjou, Versailles. My party lost two work laptops, two iPads, 1 blackberry and $ 500.00 in cash. In both cases, someone came into locked rooms and broke into locked bags. Also in both cases, the burglar(s) took the time to leave the rooms like nothing had happened. Common sense tells me that if this had been someone walking in from the street, needing to get in and out as fast as possible, they would not have wasted any time, after spending enough of it going through everything, trying to leave the rooms in order, but you can draw your own conclusion. The most disappointing thing about the hotel actually happened next. Even after learning that we were the second victims, the person on duty had not thought about calling the manager until I asked. I spoke with him and told him that he needed to come in. He said he could not do it that evening, that he wasn’t in Versailles, but he led me to believe that he would be there the next morning. When he didn’t show up, I got the front desk to call him again. Reluctantly, he got on the phone with me and finally admitted that he wasn’t coming in until Monday. Now, if people can start a trip from Florida on a Saturday evening and arrive in Versailles by Sunday morning, I’m pretty sure that he could have gotten from wherever he was, to the hotel on Sunday if he really wanted. We were told by the police that he was the only one who had access to the security camera tapes. Given that fact, even if it was slim, the best chance we had to recover the items, including the work laptops, was lost by his refusal to come in promptly. I was in Versailles on a work assignment for two weeks and this happened the weekend in between. I explained all of the above to the hotel manager both times we spoke, along with the fact that the company I work for was spending a lot of money on the trip. That we were occupying 3 rooms in the hotel for two weeks and that if he did not come in on Sunday, we were all going to leave and would never use or recommend his hotel again and he still refused to come in. Fine, I get it, the guy did not care about my company or my problem but he obviously does not care much about his hotel either. Here is some additional information if you need context: There were cameras in the lobby which is the only entrance/exit point to the hotel as the building is surrounded on both sides and back by other buildings. There were no cameras in the hallways. We took our room key with us when we went out. Even if you think that the chance of this happening again, to you, may be small and worth taking, please note that you will probably lose in a different way. Chances are the room that you end up with is nothing like (in appearance and size) any of the pictures they use to advertise, which makes what they charge for the rooms not worth it. I can appreciate small boutique hotels that are good and safe. This one is neither.

Room Tip: Chances are the room that you end up with is nothing like (in appearance and size) any of the pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank notareviewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our experience of the Résidence Du Berry was all positive. It is a charming hotel, well situated for a visit to the château. We had a warm welcome from staff who supplied information etc. willingly, giving the impression that they really were glad to be of service. Patrick and his staff made our stay a pleasure. The meal area downstairs overlooking the courtyard (it was unfortunately far too cold to eat outside, given the unusually low April temperatures) was charming. The continental breakfast offered a wide choice, including very good quality croissants (délicieux!), wonderful French bread, coffee, all manner of tea varieties, conserves etc. in seemingly inexhaustible quantities. The room, although small, was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. All in all, we were pleased and would use the hotel again if we visited Versailles another time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rog1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hotel du Berry is conveniently situated just minutes from the Palace of Versailles.
Multi day parking underneath the Cathedral.
Nice cafes and restaurants between the hotel and the Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funkemau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Friendly staff, clean lobby, outdated rooms, and... comfortable beds. Close walking distance to the Versailles Chateau

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Friendly check in (not typical French!) (Check out - the invoice is handwritten)
Elevator was broken down, so I took narrow stairs (did not have much luggage).
Room and bathroom are rather small but clean. Threadbare towels.
So why the high rating?
this hotel is a breath of fresh air in business life. So different to the chains and the unpersonal Mercure. And value for money works.
Nice French 'Cafe des Arts' across the street- again typical French food (escargots, tartare, meats and potatoes) and good house wine.
Location is good if you want to see Versailles. For a sightseeing weekend I would go for something more in the center.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay for a family wedding. We stayed in the apartment which, as an earlier review says, is actually 2 adjoining bedrooms and a sitting room (with a sofa bed). It doesn't have a kitchen or dining area. Very clean and attractively furnished and perfect for our requirements. There are two separate bathrooms and a shower room (without wc) and also two separate entrances - one into the inner courtyard and the main one into the hotel corridor.

Light sleepers need to be aware that one of the bedrooms has a door straight onto the corridor (no sound proofing entrance lobby area) and is next door to the lift. However this is a small hotel and noise wasn't a problem during our visit.

The staff were friendly and multi-lingual. Public areas were attractively decorated in a traditional style. Breakfasts were more varied than in some French hotels - cereals, meat and fruit as well as the usual baked goods.

Prices were competitive with other 3* places in central Versailles and the location is in an upmarket part of town, ideal for the Chateau and Cathedral area. Some good restaurants very close by and others within easy walking distance. Street parking is at a premium, but public parking is available within 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from the road are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

It was already a pleasure to contact this hotel for booking. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, offered a discount on request and accepted our little dog. Arrival was also a pleasure, fast and friendly check-in was guaranteed and a reco for a nice restaurant nearby came on top. Only down-side: public parking only as we arrived by car. The hotel is extremely cosy, nicely decorated with beautiful furnitures, carpets, etc. Rooms are quite small, also the bathroom, but acceptable. All is very clean and proper, there is always someone to talk to or to ask questions. The staff is very helpful if support is required. Breakfast is good but not too rich, e.g. no cheese which is strange for France. All in all, Res. Du Berry was a great choice, especially to the proximity (8 min walk) to Versailles Castle, and we'd like to come back one day.
Dr. Wolfgang Marx, Marburg/ Germany

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
525 reviews
1 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.3 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#11 of 26 in Versailles
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#12 of 26 in Versailles
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Residence du Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Residence du Berry

Address: 14 rue d Anjou, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £81 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Residence du Berry 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the quartier Saint-Louis in Versailles, the building wich today houses the Hôtel la Résidence du Berry was built by Louis XV in 1727 as a private mansion for Sieur Louis Delalande, the noble charged with tending to king’s tableware You will enjoy a warm welcome in our establishement. Fully renovated, The Hôtel la Résidence du Rerry preserves its historic character with its atypical brick pier facade, exposed wood beam ceilings, and refined decoration recalling the prestige of Louis XV. Take the advantage of the friendly and relaxing atmosphere in the garden and billard room or savour a glass of champagne at the hotel bar. You will equally appreciate being a mere 3-minutes walk from the Château de Versailles, its park, and the renowned Versailles market. Feel free to discover our promotions Royal Weekend and Equestrian Weekend ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel la Residence du Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Du Berry Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing