We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a day or longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Fox Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a day or longer”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really a lovely stay for a night. Had two rooms for 3 and everything was lovely. Rooms are small enough so luggage can be difficult if you have a bunch. This hotel was sparkling clean and very French in every way. Staff has superb language skill in both English and French. They go out of their way to make things easy for Americans. Would be a good way to start a trip. If you stay we strongly recommend the food service and bar service... Just lovely all the way around. Give these people a call if you like to walk to see the sights. Can't go wrong with this choice. Snarky comments related to not being overly friendly apply IF you are difficult... If that is your story understand you will get it back in spades in France!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask for advice. Be nice when you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperqueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    146
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
41
153
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is clean and in a decent location. The rooms are typical size for the area and price, which means small by US standards but very adequate. The staff is ok, they were helpful but not overly friendly. The Chateau of Versailles is a 10 minute walk along pleasant streets. There is no restaurant on site and if you go on a Sunday most restaurants are closed or close in the afternoon. There is no air conditioning and the WiFi is not great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights and we . The rooms were slightly on the small side but who spends time in their room in Versailles? the decor was fabulous and the room was immaculately clean!the location is great as you are just a ten minute walk from the train station and the palace. All staff were extremely helpful and could not do enough for you. We had a toddler with us and they accommodated his needs amazingly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would 100% recommend staying in this wonderful hotel. It should be more than a three star!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel la Residence du Berry room 105.

The room faced the street and was away from the lift. There was some street noise but later in the night it was fine. Rooms not facing the street are available. The hotel is old but appeared clean and is in a great location right near King Louis vegetable garden. There was no air conditioning but I knew that when I booked. The room was adequate. The towels were very thin.

Hotel staff were very friendly and willing to help.

As the hotel has no air conditioning you need to leave windows open. Rooms facing the street of this otherwise acceptable hotel are affected by the people who smoke and congregate just outside the front door of the hotel. The smoke enters through the open room windows above and while the rooms are non-smoking this is something a non-smoker should not need to endure. Some well placed no smoking signs strategically place immediately outside the front would fix this.

Breakfast was great and the staff continuously re-stocked things. The breakfast room was clean, bright and airy.

The room key had a really large plastic tag and this made it difficult to open the door to the room. If I wasn't quick enough the sensor lights in the corridor would time out if I stayed still for too long. I have encountered hotels before where you are required to hand in the key when you go out. For added security I wish they would also ask for a name when you ask for a room key.

Parking in Versailles is expensive and a problem for all I guess in Versailles.

They were undertaking repair work to the front door and re wallpapering the lobby while we were there.

I enjoyed my stay and I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HAE4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and found the hotel perfect for our needs. Small but clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff (particularly Stephanie) and located really well for access to the Chateau and main shopping streets. Would recommend others stay here too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jyoung0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were here for two nights in a suite. Good points: short walk to Palace of Versailles, nice rooms, good breakfast, good restaurants nearby. Things to consider: no parking lot, on street parking but only two hours at a time, Get breakfast included in you rate ( ours was included but at check out they tried to charge us again $28 euros per person ) for a continental breakfast. I would suggest reminding them you have breakfast included at check in. Bottled water 4 euros for small bottle, wifi free but extremely slow or not at all, no bell captain or staff carry your own luggage. Over all nice stay.

Room Tip: We had suite 110 to access you go Thursday the garden and up a flight of stairs. Very private and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayer 5 nights at the hotel very present. It is centrally located not far from the chateau and the RER C station which has trains every 15mins in to the centre of Paris.

The breakfast is good although a little pricey hey but it is Paris :-).

All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#5 of 26 in Versailles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
0.4 mi away
Pullman Chateau de Versailles
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Residence du Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Residence du Berry

Property: Hotel la Residence du Berry
Address: 14 rue d Anjou, 78000, Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Residence du Berry 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel la Residence du Berry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Du Berry Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing