We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Nearby Hotels
US$353
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$323
US$239
MGallery
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel la Residence du Berry(Versailles)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$161
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
A l'Hotel des Roys(Versailles)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$115
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile Versailles - Buc(Buc)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Versailles)
US$120
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
58
137
53
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
137
53
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squarecar parkminute walkcroissantsold stablessecure parkingtypical french hotelrooms are very basicparking arealocal cafeoverlooking the courtyardexcellent locationsurrounded by restaurantsgets hotperfect positionwifi worked wellrailway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Simple, but clean and comfortable room. Good nights sleep for sure. Very well located right in the heart of town. Staff spoke English very well. Only downsides were: 1) wifi... Free, but I was at the end of the hall, and connectivity was awful. If you need it, ask for a room centrally located on check in. 2) breakfast... Sure the croissant was yummy, but the breakfast was very sparse. Don't count on it to jump start your day. That said, very charming place, friendly hosts, if I came back, I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Hello,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our wifi isn't quite up to standards in terms of range. We are currently working on this issue but indeed in the meantime it is best to ask specifically for a room where the wifi reaches best.

Our breakfast is not composed of anything cooked and is undeniably quite basic but we do our best to provide a good quality of bread and croissants for our guests.

I've no need to hope for you to pick us for a next stay in Versailles as you have already mentioned it in your comment. It will be a pleasure you welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The strongest benefits of this hotel are its location, free and secure car parking and free WIFI... in the middle of Versailles literally by the market square. Hence you will pay for that but not necessarily for the sleep comfort. The bedroom is bare minimum, basic as if it were a dull student accommodation. No decorations for example on the wall, a picture frame or two would lift the décor a bit. The biggest problem in the room where we stayed and I am sure in those nearby is the squeaky floor board. Really annoying. I think the owners should invest in making the floor noiseless.
The TV has a lot of interesting channels including those that require subscription such as Canal+ particularly if you want to watch sport. Bathroom was clean and spacious with bath tub and shower, but there was not sufficient shower gel/shampoo for a triple room.
Breakfast is OK, continental with some very nice croissant and bread and coffee served from a machine. It costs 8.60 euros.
Staff were nice and friendly especially Camilla who speaks fluent English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khadjri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your helpful comment on your stay with us. I'm sorry you did not fully appreciate the comfort of our rooms. You are quite right saying that the larger rooms in our hotel have squeaky floor boards and I will inform the owners of this issue as well as the fact that not enough shower gel/shampoo was put in your room. I also think a touch of art would embelish our rooms considerably so I will do my best to see what can be done. I'm glad I was of help during your stay.

Despite the few negative aspects of your stay I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The best thing about this small hotel is it's location.

The staff are not anglophones, but do provide a good service for an good price. The courtyard has a beautiful rose garden, and the rooms are minimal yet comfortable.

Our only complaint is that sometimes guests listen to the televisions very late at night, and can be heard between the walls.

Versailles is a beautiful town, and this is a great boutique on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the noise of the tv next door. Although our walls are not very thick, we do expect our guests to respect the tranquility of others, which is unfortunately not always the case and once again we apologise for this. We are nevertheless glad that you enjoyed staying with us and that we were able to be of help.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We just stayed at Cheval Rouge a week or so ago. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. It was an older hotel, but the exterior has a lot of charm. It is about a 10 minute walk to Versailles. The rooms are very basic, no frills. The parking was nice, because it is off the street, in a courtyard. The breakfast was very nice with a wide variety of yogurts, breads, croissants, and cheese. Would recommend for a couple night stay. A little difficult to find if you are driving.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytwinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Hello,

Thank you ever so much for your enthousiastic comment! Indeed, we are quite well hidden on the Place du Marché Notre Dame, it can be tricky when you arrive by car, with it being a one way street and our hotel being in a corner. However, this guarantees a very calm atmosphere for your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose our hotel again for a future visit to Versailles!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for one night. At the reception we were well received, all explained even advised of were to eat. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, also worm as it was really cold out side. Free WI-FI. And secure parking. At night you couldn't ear a thing so we slept well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlui5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Hello,

We are so glad that you had a nice and calm stay. We are always happy to give advice and suggestions concerning surrounding restaurants as the market place is filled with them. Our free and private parking is very handy as it is usually fairly hard to find a free spot in Versailles. As all of our rooms give into the interior court, they prove themselves suprisingly calm at night despite the market just outside!

We do hope to welcome you in a near future and thank you for your comment.

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews