We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Everyone at the hotel from the front desk to the restaurant help is incredibly friendly and polite. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We found this hotel because my cousins live one town over from here, a five minute car ride. Our first stay was three years ago with my husband. I travelled this time only with my son while on a trip to Paris during my visit to him in Brussels during his year abroad. This trip the hot water was not particularly hot and the WiFi was a bit sketchy but overall our experience was very good. With a short walk to the metro which takes you right into downtown Paris and the market which is held in the square right outside the door on Tuesdays & Fridays this is the best location for both an enjoyable Paris vacation and a quieter Versailles visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paininthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are so glad you had such a nice time with us. We do hope you'll chose our hotel for a future stay in Versailles.

We have indeed a perfect location in the center of Versailles, with a food market one day and a clothes market the other. This being just a few steps outside our hotel! The RER station into center Paris is only about a 10mn walk down the road from us.

All our apologies for the hot water issue and wifi. These are two issues we are aware of, and are working on currently. We are doing our very best for them to be sorted out the soonest possible.

We hope to welcome you very soon!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Cheval Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

On my arrival the receptionist was charming and informative, and made me feel welcome and at home. The clean room was big enough to accommodate a large comfortable bed, luggage shelf, desk, wardrobe and reading chair and, indeed, was more spacious than some rooms provided in corporate hotels. The shower was powerful and there was adequate space in the en suite bathroom. As the room faced a courtyard used for complimentary parking, the silence guaranteed a peaceful night's sleep. Breakfast included excellent baguettes and croissants, juice, jams, cheeses, cereals, yogurts and choice of coffees and teas. Nothing was lacking in this island of calm in the middle of the restaurant and market district and, at the price, its location near the station with frequent trains to the centre of Paris, was an added bonus.
I look forward to making a return visit on my next drive to the Paris area.

Room Tip: There is only one room on ground level and the rest are up a flight of stairs with a bannister.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeePascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your very kind comment. We are ever so happy you enjoyed your stay with us this much and that it was such a delight.

The details that you mention of the hotel and its' surroundings are perfectly accurate, I have nothing to add! I do hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for two night en route from the Dordogne back to the UK with our two children (4,8).

Arrived early but were able to check in. The hotel was easy to find, with brown signs on virtually every approach road into Versailles. Reception staff exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Our room was basic but very clean. Two large double beds, large bathroom, TV and room overlooking the courtyard. The only negatives about the room were a lack of air conditioning (it was warm at night but not so much that we couldn't sleep) and that the shower didn't have a wall attachment at head height, so having a shower required it to be held above the head. Aside from this is was great and I think probably worth more than its 2 * rating.

The hotel was very quiet despite it's excellent location in the corner of the market square. The car park was secure and without height restriction, which was important since we had a roof box. We didn't try breakfast because there was a great boulangerie across the square which opened at 7am selling the best croissants I've ever tasted as well as take-out coffee (out of the hotel, turn right and cross the road) . Kids loved 'breakfast in bed' and so did our bank balance! There are several restaurants within walking distance so a huge choice of places to eat.

For a day in Paris, you can walk 10 minutes to the Chateau Rive-Gauche station which will take you directly to Champs de Mars station on RER line C for the Eiffel Tower. Be careful to take the train marked VICK on the return journey as this is the only one coming back to the same station. There is a Monoprix supermarket within five minutes walk (on the way to the station) with a reasonable food hall in the basement where you can buy picnic ingredients to take into Paris if required. It's open until 8.30pm.

Versailles palace is about 10 minutes walk away. Overall this is an excellent hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hello,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comment. We have very recently (a few months ago) obtained a 3rd star for our hotel. I do hope you think it was worth the 3 stars.

All my apologies for the lack of air conditioning. It is not often we have very hot weather in the night time.

It is true we are ideally located on the market place where there are plenty of boulangeries and restaurants to satisfy our guests. I do hope you will stay with us for a future stay in Versailles!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a great place, only five minutes walk from the Palais and right in the heart of resteraunt land.
Rooms clean and comfortable, WIFI not accesible in our rooms but not really bothered by that.
Highly recommend for a stay in Verseilles.

Room Tip: Breakfast very expensive so we didnt take it, lovely hotel though and lots of places nearby to have...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warbis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed yourself with us.

I'm sorry about the WIFI not functioning in your room, we are currently working on making the service better around the whole hotel.

Our breakfast is quite basic at 8,60euros per person (2013 rate). I hope you were able to find a nice boulangerie nearby as we are more than happy to recommend a few.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 5 nights at Le Cheval Rouge and had a wonderful time - its location is excellent, right in the heart of the Restaurant district and within easy walk of the Chateau. The management and staff are relaxed, helpful and polite. The room we had was recently renovated and was really comfortable and well equipped. Trains from Versailles to Paris St. Lazard are frequent and inexpensive and once again only walking distance from the hotel. This was our second stay at Le Cheval Rouge and it won't be the last!

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room overlooking the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We are indeed right on the main market place and very close to the Château (a bit less than a 10mn walk) and the main train stations are either a 10mn walk or a 5mn walk depending on where you are going into Paris.

We are thankful you had such a wonderful stay with us and it is with pleasure that we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a great stay in Versailles. Really quaint as it is a renovated Stable. Modern for knowing that it was a stable. Wifi is free and very fast, a must-have with today! Only about a 5 minute walk from the train stations, and a 5 minute walk from the Versailles Palace. About 6 cafes are along a strip by the hotel, and others are walking distance to the Palace. Would definitely stay here again while in Versailles!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed it and that everything went smoothly!

Our hotel was indeed partly stables, but also partly a storage for the kings' meat and fish used to feed the Palace personnel!

We look forward to welcoming you again should you come back to Versailles in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After thoroughly studying hotel options in Versailles I chose Cheval Rouge. The hotel was clean and room refurbished and comfortable. I have trouble understanding some of the comments regarding this property. I have no complaints about the room nor the services. There are also many plus sides. The hotel location in is in a quarter with plenty of shops and restaurants to keep a tourist happy. Also the market just outside the door is interesting. If you are visiting the Versailles castle, you have only a 10 minute walk to the gates. Remember to buy and print tickets in advance and be at the gate well before the opening time to avoid long lines. Actually we got in as the first visitors on July 14th. The best thing about this hotel... The inner courtyard contains a plenty of parking space ... and it is free !! Also there a small garden with some flowers and trees plus seats, where you can sit down and read in the sun or shade.
I truly recommend this place and will visit it again, when in Versailles.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midnightskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval R, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are indeed ideally located right on the main market place of Versilles. I am glad you found the entertainment and discrations you needed to have a great time in Versailles!

With the looks of it, we will be welcoming you again in the near future and it will be a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#10 of 26 in Versailles
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#11 of 26 in Versailles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £80 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing