We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok for us”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was best price we could get for a family of 5. Good bathroom, internet was good; clean room.
Basic decorations in hotel , though we were not looking for anything posh. In center of town, close to palace, easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I often stay at Royal Hotel during my business trips. Staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. Comfortable bed, neat lien and towels. There is free wifi and elevator. The hotel location is grerat - 5 min walk from Chateau the Versailles, 5 min from Rive Gauсhe railway station (30 min to Paris), restorants and commerces are close. It is situated in the historical district of the city, which is safe and quite.
If you are looking for a reasonable accomodation in terms of the quality/price/location, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irinap07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Except the fact that internet was free all the outher facilities, of this so called hotel, was undescripable. Ditry bath&sheats, cheap breakfast. Preaty expencieve for what it offer. The reason of staing there was proximity of the Gare Rive Gauche for taking RER to Paris. In conclusion, I cannot recomand this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danmunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Extremely noisy and unclean hotel. The rooms seemed not to have been washed or cleaned properly for months. Real soddy. Our stay was very unpleasent for us all. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rigaud-Blandois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Nice friendly atmosphere - old building, and rooms are very small but adequate and very clean.
Great location, three minutes walk from the train station and lots of lovely cafes and bars around. Chateau is close too and should be visited for the real flavour of swanky Versailles.
No air con which made sleeping uncomfortable, as we were on ground floor we were a bit reluctant to open the window inside the closed shutters - they make me feel a bit claustraphobic.
For the length of time spent in the room it was adequate, functional and good value. The breakfast is continental, but only just acceptable. To get a really good coffee and croissant go out to the local café and sit outside in the balmy morning and enjoy. Vive la difference!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyager2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Our room at Royal Hotel was a bit dated but clean. Service was helpful. Within a reasonable walking distance to the Palace & train station. Good enough if you're just looking for a moderately-priced place to sleep and keep your stuff for a night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This is a very old hotel & everything is old . The bed was well worn , the old lady on reception was not the happiest soul on earth . Location very good & price ok .
Do not go to the restaurant Chez Cesar , worst restaurant in our month in France . Service was terrible , didn;t like the idea that i gave my partner some of my desert .Looked like they couldn't wait to get rid of us .

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwis2monaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#7 of 26 in Versailles
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#12 of 26 in Versailles
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
2.6 mi away
Les Clefs du Roy
Les Clefs du Roy
#1 of 4 in Buc
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home St-louis
Home St-louis
#26 of 26 in Versailles
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 23 rue Royale | 23 Rue Royale, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £73 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hôtel downtown ! In the heart of the Saint-Louis section, the most historical section of Versailles discover the Royal Hotel. Five minutes from the Castle from the railway stations offering connections to Paris and Versailles conventions center. You will be warlmy welcomed here, in a relaxed family atmosphere. Accessibles by lift, our thirty one rooms offer comfortable and calm surroundings. They are all equipped with a shower bath, WC, direct dial phone and televison to make your stay enjoyable. No access and facilities for disabled persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing