We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you're just looking for a place to sleep”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good if you're just looking for a place to sleep”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Our room at Royal Hotel was a bit dated but clean. Service was helpful. Within a reasonable walking distance to the Palace & train station. Good enough if you're just looking for a moderately-priced place to sleep and keep your stuff for a night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    40
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
26
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This is a very old hotel & everything is old . The bed was well worn , the old lady on reception was not the happiest soul on earth . Location very good & price ok .
Do not go to the restaurant Chez Cesar , worst restaurant in our month in France . Service was terrible , didn;t like the idea that i gave my partner some of my desert .Looked like they couldn't wait to get rid of us .

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis2monaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Versailles hotels

Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We found this hotel in our "Let's Go" travel book and we should've turned around once we walked in, but we were tired from traveling and decided to stay.

The place is exactly what it says...a two star hotel. Nothing fancy--a bed and a shower. The room wasn't the cleanest, but it was within walking distance from the train station and the Chateau. That was about the only thing going for it.

And as you can tell from the pictures...everything in the room was PINK!

We'll always remember this hotel for one reason--the shutters. We ended up oversleeping...almost past check out (at 11am) because we didn't realize what time it was. Someone had closed the shutters on outside of the window and we were just expecting to wake up with the sun. :) Bad idea. Fun memory, but still a scary place.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — The color
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here unless you're on a really tight budget
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chinmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2005

hi,

i'm from chicago, IL, i stayed in this hotel once a year. I know the paris area pretty well, and i can say that you will not find better place for this price. I you're wanna stay in paris, it will cost you twice the price, so go to versailles, it s actually cheaper and the city is nice. This hotel is 7mn walk from the palace and 5 mn walk from the train station which links the heart of paris within 30mn
It is also located in the historic district of the city.
The Royal hotel is a family hotel, it has 40 rooms and an elevator since 2003, the rooms are not very large but they are pretty and clean. The district is safe and non noisy. Moreover you ll find good restaurants within 5 mn.
Everybody is nice, you ll feel like home
If you have only 70 dollars to spend per night, go there.

You'll find some pics in the website : ----

John

  • Stayed August 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 September 2004

I have stayed at this hotel once a year for the past five years. The management are always friendly, and the rooms have always been neat and clean. The rooms are not extreamly large, but they will do just fine for most travelers. If you are looking for a good bargan, I suggest you use this hotel. The location is great. You are a ten minute walk at best to the Palace. Good resturants are close. Unless you are expecting the RITZ, you will not be unhappy.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.3 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#11 of 26 in Versailles
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Versailles Chantiers
Hotel Versailles Chantiers
#7 of 26 in Versailles
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 23 rue Royale | 23 Rue Royale, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hôtel downtown ! In the heart of the Saint-Louis section, the most historical section of Versailles discover the Royal Hotel. Five minutes from the Castle from the railway stations offering connections to Paris and Versailles conventions center. You will be warlmy welcomed here, in a relaxed family atmosphere. Accessibles by lift, our thirty one rooms offer comfortable and calm surroundings. They are all equipped with a shower bath, WC, direct dial phone and televison to make your stay enjoyable. No access and facilities for disabled persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing