We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country house not hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Except the fact that internet was free all the outher facilities, of this so called hotel, was undescripable. Ditry bath&sheats, cheap breakfast. Preaty expencieve for what it offer. The reason of staing there was proximity of the Gare Rive Gauche for taking RER to Paris. In conclusion, I cannot recomand this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danmunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

Extremely noisy and unclean hotel. The rooms seemed not to have been washed or cleaned properly for months. Real soddy. Our stay was very unpleasent for us all. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rigaud-Blandois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Nice friendly atmosphere - old building, and rooms are very small but adequate and very clean.
Great location, three minutes walk from the train station and lots of lovely cafes and bars around. Chateau is close too and should be visited for the real flavour of swanky Versailles.
No air con which made sleeping uncomfortable, as we were on ground floor we were a bit reluctant to open the window inside the closed shutters - they make me feel a bit claustraphobic.
For the length of time spent in the room it was adequate, functional and good value. The breakfast is continental, but only just acceptable. To get a really good coffee and croissant go out to the local café and sit outside in the balmy morning and enjoy. Vive la difference!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyager2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Our room at Royal Hotel was a bit dated but clean. Service was helpful. Within a reasonable walking distance to the Palace & train station. Good enough if you're just looking for a moderately-priced place to sleep and keep your stuff for a night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This is a very old hotel & everything is old . The bed was well worn , the old lady on reception was not the happiest soul on earth . Location very good & price ok .
Do not go to the restaurant Chez Cesar , worst restaurant in our month in France . Service was terrible , didn;t like the idea that i gave my partner some of my desert .Looked like they couldn't wait to get rid of us .

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwis2monaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We found this hotel in our "Let's Go" travel book and we should've turned around once we walked in, but we were tired from traveling and decided to stay.

The place is exactly what it says...a two star hotel. Nothing fancy--a bed and a shower. The room wasn't the cleanest, but it was within walking distance from the train station and the Chateau. That was about the only thing going for it.

And as you can tell from the pictures...everything in the room was PINK!

We'll always remember this hotel for one reason--the shutters. We ended up oversleeping...almost past check out (at 11am) because we didn't realize what time it was. Someone had closed the shutters on outside of the window and we were just expecting to wake up with the sun. :) Bad idea. Fun memory, but still a scary place.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chinmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
229
Reviewed 26 April 2005

hi,

i'm from chicago, IL, i stayed in this hotel once a year. I know the paris area pretty well, and i can say that you will not find better place for this price. I you're wanna stay in paris, it will cost you twice the price, so go to versailles, it s actually cheaper and the city is nice. This hotel is 7mn walk from the palace and 5 mn walk from the train station which links the heart of paris within 30mn
It is also located in the historic district of the city.
The Royal hotel is a family hotel, it has 40 rooms and an elevator since 2003, the rooms are not very large but they are pretty and clean. The district is safe and non noisy. Moreover you ll find good restaurants within 5 mn.
Everybody is nice, you ll feel like home
If you have only 70 dollars to spend per night, go there.

You'll find some pics in the website : ----

John

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#11 of 26 in Versailles
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Residence du Berry
Hotel la Residence du Berry
#4 of 26 in Versailles
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 23 rue Royale | 23 Rue Royale, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hôtel downtown ! In the heart of the Saint-Louis section, the most historical section of Versailles discover the Royal Hotel. Five minutes from the Castle from the railway stations offering connections to Paris and Versailles conventions center. You will be warlmy welcomed here, in a relaxed family atmosphere. Accessibles by lift, our thirty one rooms offer comfortable and calm surroundings. They are all equipped with a shower bath, WC, direct dial phone and televison to make your stay enjoyable. No access and facilities for disabled persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing