We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on our way back home from Spain. I prepaid for the room when I booked and got a fantastic rate. Nearly 100 euros saving on the rack rate posted on the door. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was modern and clean. A little on the small side but I'm being a little picky. The area is lovely with numerous restaurants and shops nearby. The market place and the palace are a 5/10 minute stroll away and both definitely worth a visit. We will definitely be back for more of an explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    270
    119
    41
    19
See reviews for
112
219
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
653 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in 3 other hotels on this trip in the Paris area. Some were 2 star where a person sits at a desk and gives you a key and some were 4 star where there are support staff and conceirges. This place was between the two. It had a lobby that was comfortable to wait in. The breakfast that was included with the room did not have a wide variety but the eggs were very tasty and it was very well presented. The room was big enough to open suitcases and two people could walk past each other (not like some of the places we stayed). A quick walk to the Palace (do not stand in line for tickets - get them somewhere else where there is no waiting) and a 10 minute walk to any of the three train stations in Versailles. We did not attempt to park a car in the area and I would suggest parking at the Chantier station and walking from there. This is where I will stay if I return to Versaille.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in the place. Ours did not have a tub, maybe some do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMahdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent G, Directeur général at Mercure Versailles Chateau, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you spent a great moment at Mercure Versailles and during your visit at the fabulous Versailles castle.
We hope to welcome you again at Mercure Versailles Château.

Sincerely,

V. GAUTIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am staying here for business for 2 weeks. this is my first time in France and I love the charm and authentic neighborhood feel to this area. The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are a bit on the small side. I think at most 2 people could fit in a room, but I did see some families so maybe they have bigger rooms. I think they are small even for European standards. But the rooms are nice and up to date.

The staff is friendly and have always been polite.

Breakfast for 15 euros is a full hearty breakfast buffet including a variety of breads, fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, and sausages. Your usual bread selection includes 2 types of butter croissants, baguettes and even sliced bread. Also includes yogurts, fruits, cereal, coffee selection, and juices.

It is a 10-15 min walk to three train stations and palace of Versailles. it is also close to several restaurants and grocery shopping if you get out a bit. There is a pizza place and very nice creperie on the street as well as a lavarie for washing your clothes if needed.

It does not offer any meals besides breakfast and there is no room service except drinks. Since this is my first time in Europe, I am not sure if this is standard practice or not.

Its a very nice hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brohemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is situated close to the Palace of Versailles and close to good bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception area was modern and clean. The rooms are small, cleaned every day and have excellent shower room facilities. The only downside is lack of draw space and the super slim wardrobe! Having stayed 3 nights we found the hotel to be reasonably priced when looking at others in the same vicinity and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnorthangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Good price quality ratio.
Perfectly located in city centre.
Rooms are small but functional. Comfortable. Quite
Modern and essential decoration.
Small breakfast area, but good food choice.
Parking available for car and bikes, tight.
It looked to us functional option, and good pricing in Versailles.
Train trip into Paris possible, 10 min walk max from train station.
Service friendly.
Wifi in room, free of charge

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The front desk clerk continued a phone conversation with friend while I waited to check-in. There was limited parking and our rental car did not fit. The room had a stench which we were not sure if it was from the leftover beer cups found under the desk or the burning brioche in the adjacent kitchen. The public parking was quite a distance and expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Versailles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#11 of 26 in Versailles
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Versailles Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Versailles Chateau

Property: Mercure Versailles Chateau
Address: 19 rue Philippe de Dangeau | Angle rue Montbauron, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Versailles Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Versailles Chateau is located in the heart of Versailles, within easy reach of the three stations that connect to Paris and the airports, and close to the business district, museums and monuments. Offering 60 airconditioned rooms, including 8family rooms (please contact the hotel directly to book one of these) and 3 rooms for guests with limited mobility, the hotel also features a meeting room and an undercover pay car park, subject to availability. Public swimming pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Versailles Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Versailles Chateau Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing